When you can sustain vessel spells as an animist is unclear and needs an errata.


Rules Discussion


War of Immortals pg. 14 wrote:
Your primary attuned apparition can use your body as a conduit, allowing you to cast a unique vessel spell. Vessel spells are a type of focus spell. Because vessel spells are a manifestation of a specific apparition, an animist can’t cast or Sustain a specific vessel spell in the same round they have already cast or Sustained it (for example, an animist who has cast earth’s bile during their turn can’t then cast or Sustain another instance of earth’s bile during that same turn).

Rounds and turns are different things. https://2e.aonprd.com/Rules.aspx?ID=2427&Redirected=1

I am assuming you should only be able to sustain once per turn as per the example. Hypothetically, if you had a reaction to leap/step/tumble through as a lvl 9 liturgist animist, you could sustain on someone else's turn, and therefore sustain a spell.

This rule needs clarification and errata.


2 people marked this as a favorite.

I'm not sure what the issue is. Your suggested loophole is specifically closed by the 1/round limitation that's already in the rules.


Probably power-pedigree is confused because the description of the rule says "an animist can’t cast or Sustain a specific vessel spell in the same round" while the example says "an animist who has cast earth’s bile during their turn can’t then cast or Sustain another instance of earth’s bile during that same turn".

But honestly they aren't mutually exclusive. A turn is inside a round so the example is not wrong in natural english but probably was more clear if the designer used round instead.

Anyway examples are not rules they are just examples to help to exemplify an use case of a rule. The rule itself is pretty clear here, is just "an animist can’t cast or Sustain a specific vessel spell in the same round they have already cast or Sustained it" so no you can cast outside your turn too.

This was created because we pointed that some vessel spells could be exploited during the class playtest (specially Earth Bile) due how easier is to recover a focus point. I don't think that the designers was put such rule and then allow to exploit it using a Ready action for example.

It's something that can addressed to a future reprint later when the book becomes out-of-stock but may not justify an errata IMO.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
YuriP wrote:
The rule itself is pretty clear here, is just "an animist can’t cast or Sustain a specific vessel spell in the same round they have already cast or Sustained it" so no you can cast outside your turn too.

You meant "can't cast", right?


The rule:

Quote:
an animist can’t cast or Sustain a specific vessel spell in the same round they have already cast or Sustained it

is fine. There is a time measurement for rounds:

For an effect that lasts a number of rounds, the remaining duration decreases by 1 at the start of each turn of the creature that created the effect.

In this case the 'effect' is the lockout of using the Vessel Spell - which you create by casting that Vessel Spell. And that one round duration of the effect will end at the start of your next turn.

The example is also fine. A Turn is a shorter length of game time than a round. And since the example uses Earth's Bile, which is generally cast actively during your turn rather than as a reaction, saying that you can't cast Earth's Bile a second time on the same turn is accurate, even if it is not exhaustive.

I'm assuming that Earth's Bile is still a one-action spell. So you also couldn't cast Earth's Bile as a Readied reaction after your turn on the same round that you cast Earth's Bile during your turn - but that is a different example.


The more relevant thing with Ready is that if you cast a Readied vessel spell, you won't be able to sustain it on your next turn as a round has not passed since its casting. You are forced to let it run out. Other than this very minor quirk it seems to work fine as written


Errenor wrote:
YuriP wrote:
The rule itself is pretty clear here, is just "an animist can’t cast or Sustain a specific vessel spell in the same round they have already cast or Sustained it" so no you can cast outside your turn too.
You meant "can't cast", right?

Yes I miswrite.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / When you can sustain vessel spells as an animist is unclear and needs an errata. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.