Haste


Rules Discussion

Grand Lodge

Can a spell caster who casts Haste on themself benefit from the extra action in the same round its cast?


6 people marked this as a favorite.

They cannot. Haste grants quickened. Quickened specifies "You gain 1 additional action at the start of your turn each round." Haste specifically then restricts how you can use the extra action (for a stride or strike).


3 people marked this as a favorite.

More specifically, Quickened even references this scenario and has a line of text for it.

Quickened wrote:
Because quickened has its effect at the start of your turn, you don't immediately gain actions if you become quickened during your turn.

Grand Lodge

natloz wrote:
They cannot. Haste grants quickened. Quickened specifies "You gain 1 additional action at the start of your turn each round." Haste specifically then restricts how you can use the extra action (for a stride or strike).

Finoan

More specifically, Quickened even references this scenario and has a line of text for it.

Quickened wrote:
Because quickened has its effect at the start of your turn, you don't immediately gain actions if you become quickened during your turn.

Ah. They left that part out on AoN.

Thanks


1 person marked this as a favorite.

>Ah. They left that part out on AoN.

It's in the quickened condition entry, not the haste spell entry


I have a question regarding the Kineticist class and the Weapon Infusion ability. Specifically, can I use the Haste spell’s additional action to make an attack with my infused weapon? The elemental Blast?
Additionally, if this is possible, can I also use the Haste action for other Kineticist abilities?

I would greatly appreciate your guidance on these matters.

Thank you for your assistance.


3 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber
Torian81 wrote:

I have a question regarding the Kineticist class and the Weapon Infusion ability. Specifically, can I use the Haste spell’s additional action to make an attack with my infused weapon? The elemental Blast?

Additionally, if this is possible, can I also use the Haste action for other Kineticist abilities?

I would greatly appreciate your guidance on these matters.

Thank you for your assistance.

No. Haste specifies Stride or Strike. Impulses are neither of those actions. Weapon Infusion does not actually have anything to do with weapons. It just modifies Elemental Blast.


HammerJack wrote:
Torian81 wrote:

I have a question regarding the Kineticist class and the Weapon Infusion ability. Specifically, can I use the Haste spell’s additional action to make an attack with my infused weapon? The elemental Blast?

Additionally, if this is possible, can I also use the Haste action for other Kineticist abilities?

I would greatly appreciate your guidance on these matters.

Thank you for your assistance.

No. Haste specifies Stride or Strike. Impulses are neither of those actions. Weapon Infusion does not actually have anything to do with weapons. It just modifies Elemental Blast.

Where can i finde the spezific rules, in what books? pages

Tho


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

Player Core page 335. The rule is in the Haste spell itself. It states "It gains the quickened condition and can use the extra action each round for only Strike and Stride actions."

If you are looking for what page states that an Impulse doesn't get counted as Stride or Strike, no such page exists. The rule is the other way around. Stride and Strike are specific actions. An Impulse being usable in place of one would have to be a special rule written into the Impulse. The books won't say that the hypothetical special rule doesn’t exist.


HammerJack wrote:

Player Core page 335. The rule is in the Haste spell itself. It states "It gains the quickened condition and can use the extra action each round for only Strike and Stride actions."

If you are looking for what page states that an Impulse doesn't get counted as Stride or Strike, no such page exists. The rule is the other way around. Stride and Strike are specific actions. An Impulse being usable in place of one would have to be a special rule written into the Impulse. The books won't say that the hypothetical special rule doesn’t exist.

Thx


Aristophanes wrote:
Can a spell caster who casts Haste on themself benefit from the extra action in the same round its cast?

No. You get the quickened action as the last step of the start of your turn, which won't happen until next turn.

As far as I know the only way to haste oneself and use that quickened action turn one is to use patron's puppet with an item delivery familiar and deliver the quickness potion during the start of your turn, before you regain actions.

It's a neat trick but only usable for witch.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Haste All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.