| eyelessgame |
I recognize I'm a bit late to the party, asking v1 rules questions, but either my search-fu has failed me or this hasn't been asked before (which of itself seems baffling).
Staves are spell-trigger items. The wielder needs the spell on their list in order to use the ST item.
For the first time in any campaign I've run, a random treasure selection came up with the staff of radiance, so I looked up the spells.
There's no character class that can cast all three - glitterdust, searing light, and daylight.
Am I misinterpreting what this means? I know you can recharge a staff if you can cast any one spell the staff holds, but you can only spell-trigger spells that are on your class list, yes? And thus is it the case that to make "full use" of this staff - to be able to use all three of the spells - you'd need either (a) to make Use Magic Device checks for at least one, (b) be cross-classed, (c) hand it back and forth between different casters, (d) take Unsanctioned Knowledge or other random weird way to gain a spell not on your list?
Or did I misread the rules, and you can use any of the spells on a staff if at least one is on your class's caster list? Where's that rule, if so?
| OmniMage |
Yeah, it does seem to be a problem. Like you, I could not find a single caster class who has all the spells in the staff on their spell list.
I think a spell caster can use the staff even if only some of the spells show up on their spell list. They just can't use the spells not on their list. They'd have to figure out another way or not use them at all.
I think this staff exists because someone didn't check who could cast the spells. They probably thought that 3 light spells were good enough.
By the way, I had to do some editing to copy Staff Of Radiance and put it through AoN. For some reason, I drag or click on link for the title of thread instead of selecting it.
| Pizza Lord |
The user could only spell trigger the spells that their class would have access to. You would need to either be a member of each class or only be able to call the spells available. A bard could call on the glitterdust and daylight powers of the staff but not the searing light. A cleric could call on the daylight and searing light powers but not the glitterdust.
Otherwise, Use Magic Device or some class, archetype, or ability that puts the other spells on your list.
| Mysterious Stranger |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
A sorcerer with the solar bloodline would have all the spells on his spell list. They get searing light and daylight as bloodline spells. There are probably other characters with all 3 spells on their list. Look through the bloodlines, domains, patrons, mysteries and other things that expand your spell list.
| Azothath |
Rules Forum response
Staff of Radiance $23200 wt:5lbs
yep - that's it and you got the spells right. At the standard weight it's a bit heavy for all that light activation. I'm done 8^)
Commentary
is there a requirement that items need to be useful or that a PC has to be able to activate all of its functions? LoL...
I'd agree that someone created an item with a bunch of light descriptors and they were done and glitterdust got stuck on because it is reportedly useful and sparkly (that's light, right?). They got paid and moved on... You can think of it as wacky or cross-classed, or good for multiclassed PCs. There are plenty of items that are underpowered or not-that-useful. This is just another klunker.