Can one "Ready to Shoot if a Spell is Cast"?


Rules Discussion

Shadow Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

A popular tactic is to ready an action to fire a ranged weapon at a spellcaster, if they start casting a spell.
Or at least, it was back in The Old Days of Concentration Checks.
Currently, Reactive Strikes specifically Disrupt Spells, but the Ready action doesn't mention this.
Does this mean that a Readied action to shoot, say, an arrow at whomever's Casting a Spell cannot Disrupt the Spell? That the arrow most likely connects after the Spell is done?
If so, then I'm perfectly fine with this. Enemy spellcasters aren't so easily shut down without relying on spells like Wall of Wind.
Furthermore, I might tell spellcasting PCs that an NPC is aiming a crossbow at them, then let them know that their spell still goes off after the initial fear if the bolt connects.


5 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

A readied strike doesn't disrupt anything, no.

Shadow Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

I should've made the title for this, "Do Readied Actions Disrupt Spells?"
but I wanted to phrase it the way a GM would hear it.
Anyway, I'm glad to know I had it right the first time.


3 people marked this as a favorite.
HammerJack wrote:
A readied strike doesn't disrupt anything, no.

But having a bunch of crossbows, bows, guns, etc. loaded and aimed at them might dissuade a spellcaster from casting a spell in the first place. ;)


1 person marked this as a favorite.

I think the important thing to know for a caster is "I can definitely get my spell off and it wont be disrupted" (by readied actions) but it's almost as good for the spell caster to know if they should attempt such a course of action if they have 10 archers ready to fire at them.

Of course the first scenario is something that's going to come up in combat (and honestly more likely to be PCs targeting NPC casters) and the second situation is the lead up to combat.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Can one "Ready to Shoot if a Spell is Cast"? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.