trip, reach, AOO


Rules Questions


A fighter charges at a monster with reach.
He provokes an AOO for "leaving a threatened square"
The monster decides to trip him, but doesn't have improved trip.
Does he provoke an AOO for that?

(basically, is the fighter still considered to be in the square he is attacked for leaving, when the monster's trip is resolved. If so, the monster's trip would not provoke an AOO because the fighter can't threaten him yet)


Braininthejar wrote:


A fighter charges at a monster with reach.
He provokes an AOO for "leaving a threatened square"
The monster decides to trip him, but doesn't have improved trip.
Does he provoke an AOO for that?

(basically, is the fighter still considered to be in the square he is attacked for leaving, when the monster's trip is resolved. If so, the monster's trip would not provoke an AOO because the fighter can't threaten him yet)

Because the fighter cannot reach the monster, the fighter does not get an AoO. The monsters trip AoO occurs while the fighter is still in the square that he is attempting to move out of when the fighter triggered a AoO for movement.

Dark Archive

For the fighter to get an attack they would need the strike back feat which requires a ready action

The Exchange

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Braininthejar wrote:

A fighter charges at a monster with reach.

He provokes an AOO for "leaving a threatened square"
The monster decides to trip him, but doesn't have improved trip.
Does he provoke an AOO for that?

(basically, is the fighter still considered to be in the square he is attacked for leaving, when the monster's trip is resolved. If so, the monster's trip would not provoke an AOO because the fighter can't threaten him yet)

The monster is technically "provoking an AoO" but the fighter can't take the AoO since the fighter is still in the square he is leaving and therefore the monster is not in the fighter's threatened area.

Most of the time this a distinction without a difference but there are a few edge case abilities and feats where an ally of the fighter may be able to take an action in response to the monster provoking.

Dark Archive

Belafon wrote:
Braininthejar wrote:

A fighter charges at a monster with reach.

He provokes an AOO for "leaving a threatened square"
The monster decides to trip him, but doesn't have improved trip.
Does he provoke an AOO for that?

(basically, is the fighter still considered to be in the square he is attacked for leaving, when the monster's trip is resolved. If so, the monster's trip would not provoke an AOO because the fighter can't threaten him yet)

The monster is technically "provoking an AoO" but the fighter can't take the AoO since the fighter is still in the square he is leaving and therefore the monster is not in the fighter's threatened area.

Most of the time this a distinction without a difference but there are a few edge case abilities and feats where an ally of the fighter may be able to take an action in response to the monster provoking.

AoO wrote:
Performing a Distracting Act: Some actions, when performed in a threatened square, provoke attacks of opportunity as you divert your attention from the battle

No AoO is provoked if the fighter doesn't threaten.

The Exchange

Name Violation wrote:


AoO wrote:
Performing a Distracting Act: Some actions, when performed in a threatened square, provoke attacks of opportunity as you divert your attention from the battle
No AoO is provoked if the fighter doesn't threaten.

Unless the enemy is threatened by an ally of the fighter. Normally this doesn’t matter since maneuvers only provoke from the target of the maneuver. But I was specifically thinking of Paired Opportunists and I’m sure there are other abilities that would apply.

Like I said: it’s an edge case.


Unless the fighter has reach himself or can otherwise threaten the space the monster occupies the trip does not provoke an AoO.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / trip, reach, AOO All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions