Question on spell levels


Rules Questions


Does a Quickened True Strike count as a level 1 spell, or level 5, when it comes to Metamagic rods. Would you need a normal one, or could you use a lesser?


I’m not sure, but I’d suspect you’d need the normal rod.

Quote:
Multiple Metamagic Feats on a Spell: A spellcaster can apply multiple metamagic feats to a single spell. Changes to its level are cumulative. You can't apply the same metamagic feat more than once to a single spell.

This faq may also apply: Link

“ In general, use the (normal, lower) spell level or the (higher) spell slot level, whichever is more of a disadvantage for the caster. ”


Thanks

Liberty's Edge

You need a normal metamagic rod (levels 4-5). The FAQ Melkiador cited makes that very clear:

FAQ wrote:

The spell counts as the level of the spell slot necessary to cast it.

...
In general, use the (normal, lower) spell level or the (higher) spell slot level, whichever is more of a disadvantage for the caster.

The more disadvantageous level for the rod use is 5, not 1.


2 people marked this as a favorite.

To clarify, you're referring to casting a spell prepared as a quickened True Strike and then using a metamagic rod (of....something) on it.

If you just have True Strike prepared and trying to use a rod of quicken, you would be able to use a lesser rod of quicken.

If you have Quickened True Strike and want to use a rod to do something else, then yes you treat it as a 5th level spell for what kind of metamagic rod you need.


As Claxon said, it kinda depends on what you’re trying to do… casting a Normal True Strike spell with a quickened metamagic rod is a 1st level spell. Casting a prepared Quickened Truestrike with another metamagic rod is a 5th level spell.

The most disadvantageous ruling applies before the application of an effect. So look at the state of the spell as it is before adjusting for each new effect to determine what level the spell is treated as for that effect. This can result in some oddities where a spell may count as multiple spell levels simultaneously… for example a Quickened Hold Person is a 2nd level spell when determining its saving throw, but is a 6th level spell for spell slot and additional use of metamagic rods.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Question on spell levels All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.