Agile Manuevers


Rules Discussion


As a Swashbuckler armed with a gauntlet, if I had Agile Manuevers would I be able to qualify for my grapple attempt assuming it's my second attack of the round at -4?or does the Gauntlet need the grapple trait?


Gauntlet has the free hand trait, which means you have all the benefits of having a free hand while wielding it, as long as you aren't holding anything else in that hand. So yes. Any and all maneuvers are possible.


And as long as you can make maneuvers, agile maneuvers works as written.


Awesome, so basically there is no reason to go and do unarmed strikes for D4 damage when I could wear a Gauntlet and get the same effect plus enjoy the benefit of the agile Manuevers feat while grabbing or tripping with the gauntlets.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Atalius wrote:
Awesome, so basically there is no reason to go and do unarmed strikes for D4 damage when I could wear a Gauntlet and get the same effect plus enjoy the benefit of the agile Manuevers feat while grabbing or tripping with the gauntlets.

Yes. However, the gauntlet lacks the finesse trait which makes it less ideal for a swashbuckler. The bladed gauntlet might be what you want instead. It's essentially a better martial equivalent to the gauntlet that has finesse and versatile S.


You could also pick up powerful fist via monk or martial artist archetype for a d6 lethal unarmed attack so you don't need to worry about what you're holding.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Based on a different thread, I believe the OP is taking the wrestler archetype which also removes the -2 penalty to make unarmed lethal.


Lucerious wrote:
Based on a different thread, I believe the OP is taking the wrestler archetype which also removes the -2 penalty to make unarmed lethal.

Well, in that case, a fist is identical to a gauntlet except it does bludgeoning damage.


But a Gauntlet is Agile, a normal unarmed attack isn't I thought?

Shadow Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Atalius wrote:
But a Gauntlet is Agile, a normal unarmed attack isn't I thought?

A Fist is Agile, Finesse, Nonlethal, Unarmed while a Gauntlet is Agile, Free-Hand.

Also, you aren't actually 'using' the gauntlet for these maneuvers: The 'Free Hand' trait just lets you use that hand for purposes other than striking with the gauntlet:

Free-Hand wrote:

Source Core Rulebook pg. 282 3.0

This weapon doesn't take up your hand, usually because it is built into your armor. A free-hand weapon can't be Disarmed. You can use the hand covered by your free-hand weapon to wield other items, perform manipulate actions, and so on. You can't attack with a free-hand weapon if you're wielding anything in that hand or otherwise using that hand. When you're not wielding anything and not otherwise using the hand, you can use abilities that require you to have a hand free as well as those that require you to be wielding a weapon in that hand. Each of your hands can have only one free-hand weapon on it.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Agile Manuevers All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.