| Teloric |
In a game I am in the GM ruled that the the phrasing of "can acquire as the arcane bond class feature" in the exploit description (https://aonprd.com/ArcanistExploits.aspx?ID=9) means that the arcanist has the ability now to have a familiar, but that they will need to use the "Replacing a Familiar" rules in order to get it. Which means that my 3rd level character would need to pay 600gp to get their very first raven familiar. This seems incorrect to me, but I would like to hear thoughts?
Senko
|
I'm on my way to bed but my initial thoughts are no this is more inline with taking your 1st level of wizard at a later level you still get the initial familiar free. That replacement rule is for a familiar your replacing, you aren't replacing a lost, dismissed or killed familiar. Especially since its intended for wizards who get it by default not other classes. Its going to be your GM's call in the end but the very description say's "Wizard levels" so it never considered classes that aren't wizards getting them when it was made.