Unwavering Mien + fear


Rules Discussion


Unwavering mien says whenever you are affected by a mental effect that lasts at least 2 rounds, you can reduce the duration by 1 round.

How does that interact with mental fear affects?
If I get Frightened 2 from a dragon's fearful presence, does it fall off after the first round?


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

It only applies to things with an actual duration to reduce, I'd say. Barring a special case with specific rules, Frightened isn't one of those things.

Horizon Hunters

Frightful Presence does not have a duration, it just applies a condition. Something with a duration would be like a Mummy Pharaoh's Great Despair. On a fail, you would be paralyzed for 1d4 rounds. With Unwavering Mien, you would be paralyzed for either 1, 1, 2, or 3 rounds instead.

Basically, it has to state a duration. Otherwise it just happens as normal.


Cordell Kintner wrote:

Frightful Presence does not have a duration, it just applies a condition. Something with a duration would be like a Mummy Pharaoh's Great Despair. On a fail, you would be paralyzed for 1d4 rounds. With Unwavering Mien, you would be paralyzed for either 1, 1, 2, or 3 rounds instead.

Basically, it has to state a duration. Otherwise it just happens as normal.

I'm not saying youre wrong, but that would make more sense to me if Unwavering Mien specified 'a mental effect with a duration of at least 2 rounds' rather than 'a mental effect that lasts at least 2 rounds'.

Since frightened is a mental effect, and can last at least 2 rounds, despite not having a listed duration.


Throne wrote:
Cordell Kintner wrote:

Frightful Presence does not have a duration, it just applies a condition. Something with a duration would be like a Mummy Pharaoh's Great Despair. On a fail, you would be paralyzed for 1d4 rounds. With Unwavering Mien, you would be paralyzed for either 1, 1, 2, or 3 rounds instead.

Basically, it has to state a duration. Otherwise it just happens as normal.

I'm not saying youre wrong, but that would make more sense to me if Unwavering Mien specified 'a mental effect with a duration of at least 2 rounds' rather than 'a mental effect that lasts at least 2 rounds'.

Since frightened is a mental effect, and can last at least 2 rounds, despite not having a listed duration.

Reducing Frightened duration by 1 round doesn't do anything as Frightened doesn't have a duration on its own. Its end is based on something else than a duration and can actually last forever if you have an effect preventing you from reducing your Frightened condition.

So even if you consider Frightened as a mental effect with at least 2 rounds of duration (which is quite true if you are under the effect for at least 2 rounds) Unwavering Mien can't do anything against it.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Unwavering Mien + fear All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.