
![]() |

Why do resonant weapons work with spellstriking arrows but not with spellstrike. And does spellstrike work with unarmed strikes from stances?
Source Secrets of Magic pg. 37Magus
Frequency until recharged (see below)
You channel a spell into a punch or sword thrust to deliver a combined attack. You Cast a Spell that takes 1 or 2 actions to cast and requires a spell attack roll. The effects of the spell don't occur immediately but are imbued into your attack instead. Make a melee Strike with a weapon or unarmed attack. Your spell is coupled with your attack, using your attack roll result to determine the effects of both the Strike and the spell. This counts as two attacks for your multiple attack penalty, but you don't apply the penalty until after you've completed the Spellstrike. The infusion of spell energy grants your Strike the arcane trait, making it magical.
After you use Spellstrike, you can't do so again until you recharge your Spellstrike as a single action, which has the concentrate trait. You also recharge your Spellstrike when you cast a conflux spell that takes at least 1 action to cast; casting a focus spell of another type doesn't recharge your Spellstrike.
Any unarmed melee strike should work...

HammerJack |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

1. You need to take the Conduct Energy Free Action for Resonant weapons to do anything. Because this is not an action with a Trigger, you can't do it in the middle of an Activity (like between the separate subordinate actions of a spellstrike).
2. Sure, there's nothing special about the unarmed strikes from stances that wouldn't get in the way. Spellstrike says to make a melee strike with a weapon or unarmed attack. It doesn't care which melee weapon or unarmed attack.

breithauptclan |

OK, what are spellstriking arrows? I'm not familiar with those.
As for Spellstrike and Resonant: It doesn't work because an activity doesn't automatically get the traits of its subordinate actions. That was stealth errata if I remember correctly.
But even if it did qualify, the Conduct Energy free action adds damage to attacks only for the rest of that turn. So using it after doing Spellstrike means that you would me making attacks at maximum attack penalty.
As for Spellstrike with Monk stances, I think that does work fine. Or even with Spellstrike with ancestry unarmed attacks. Because Spellstrike says that you can use a weapon or an unarmed attack. It doesn't specify a specific weapon or a specific unarmed attack. So you don't have to only use 'Fist' as your unarmed attack when doing Spellstrike, just like you don't have to use a dagger when doing Spellstrike with a weapon.