Summoning and Buffing


Rules Questions


Can a Master Summoner or anybody else able to buff the master summoners summon creature with spells such as bulls strength and other like spell magic?
I have read a lot of conflicting information so I thought it would be best to come here and get a solid opinion.


Yes. A summoned creature is an acceptable target for buffs like Bull's Strength.


it depend on the buff used.

master summoner gain the feat Augment Summoning at 2nd level. that feat already give all of his summoned creatures (that are summoned via a summon spell, his eidolon probably do not count) "+4 enhancement bonus to Strength and Constitution" which is the same kind of bonus bull's strength and bear's endurance give. so these specific spells won't stack with the summoned creature own buff from the feat.

so the answer is:
- YES the summoned creatures can be buffed, but depend on what buff is used, it might not have any added effect.

The Exchange

I have never heard this question before. Summoned creatures are creatures. Can you explain the argument against summoned creatures being a valid target for bull's strength? (Even if you don't agree with it, just trying to figure out what the logic is.)


it's most likely a misunderstanding.

he probably read that 'master summoner' can't (or more accurately shouldn't try to) cast bull's strength or bear's endurance on his summoned creatures
-as it won't stack with his augment summoning feat (they give the same bonus, see my post above).
it's not a matter with every summoned creature, it's a matter of 2 specific spells (the 2 above, or anything else that give the same or lesser bonus) and creatures that are summoned by some1 with said feat.

and it's not a question of being able to, it's a matter of not having anything added by casting them. (before casting bull's strength\bear's endurance the creature had +4 enhancement to his str and con, the same after)


Got it,
They can be buffed, but not with Bull strength or Bear endurance, Because that is the same sort of buff they already have received due to the augmented Summoning feat. Any other buff is OK.

Thanks!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Summoning and Buffing All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.