Can Liberating Step target self?


Rules Discussion


Am I my own ally?

Basically, if I am a liberator champion and I become the target of a grab, restraint, imobilization, or paralysis effect, can I use my reaction to attempt a new save or attempt an escape check?

Or... can liberators only liberate others? Their patron deity is like "you do good work, but you're gonna have to figure out some other way out of this. Tough luck for you. Maybe you can find another one of my liberator champions to help you out!"


4 people marked this as a favorite.

No, you are not your own ally. Champions are supposed to be selfless.


CRB pg. 455 Targets

Quote:
Some effects target or require an ally, or otherwise refer to an ally. This must be someone on your side, often another PC, but it might be a bystander you are trying to protect. You are not your own ally. If it isn’t clear, the GM decides who counts as an ally or an enemy.

Rules explicit. You are not your Ally, so effects that require you to target an ally, like Liberating Step, cannot be used to benefit yourself.

Sczarni

markrivett wrote:
Am I my own ally?

"You are not your own ally".

EDIT: ha, the website didn't show my comment for a full minute, and when it finally did, Kelseus had already ninja'd me ^_^


Also applies to Forbidding Ward.


Thank you all for helping me to get this right.

I feel like there's a meme in this somewhere...

Champion: "My comrade is grappled! I shall call upon my deity to free them!"

Sarenrae: "There you go, little buddy. You freed one of your friends."

Champion: "Oh oh, now I'm grappled. I again call upon my deity!"

Sarenrae: "You can just die... selflessly."

But I respect the rules as written. Thank you again.


markrivett wrote:

Thank you all for helping me to get this right.

I feel like there's a meme in this somewhere...

Champion: "My comrade is grappled! I shall call upon my deity to free them!"

Sarenrae: "There you go, little buddy. You freed one of your friends."

Champion: "Oh oh, now I'm grappled. I again call upon my deity!"

Sarenrae: "You can just die... selflessly."

But I respect the rules as written. Thank you again.

Fun fact, everything not tied to divine ally and focus pool remains even if you stray from your alignment or violate your code

Quote:
If you stray from your alignment or violate your code of conduct, you lose your focus pool and divine ally until you demonstrate your repentance by conducting an atone ritual, but you keep any other champion abilities that don’t require those class features.

which seems to mean it has nothing to do with the deity itself.

For example, you might play a CE ex liberator which has access to:

- Liberating step
- Champion Armor Class
- Any class feat which doesn't involve focus pool and divine ally
- Eventually, a focus pool ( if you lose yours, it doesn't mean you can't get another focus pool back from other sources )
- etc...

So, it seems more like

"I am grappled, I call upon my deity"

"What. I gave you a divine ally and a focus pool... I don't have any idea how your champion reaction works! Resist please, while I read the CRB!"

But, apart from that, the champion class is meant to force the enemy into choosing whether to attack the high armored champion or the low armored ally, knowing it will trigger the champion's reaction.

If the reaction would work on the champion it would be like a broken as hell bastion.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Can Liberating Step target self? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.