school undestandin in wizard


Rules Questions


i just have a discution whit a fellow bloger and he say that a exploiiter wizard can get the school understanding whitout problem

the exploit say:
School Understanding

The arcanist can select one arcane school from any of the schools available to a character with the arcane school wizard class feature, but does not have to select any opposition schools. The arcanist gains one ability of that arcane school as though she were a 1st-level wizard, using her Charisma modifier in place of her Intelligence modifier for this ability. The ability must be one gained at 1st level and is limited in its use per day to 3 + the arcanist’s Charisma modifier. As a swift action, the arcanist can expend 1 point from her arcane reservoir to bolster her understanding, allowing her to treat her arcanist level as her wizard level for the purpose of using this ability for a number of rounds equal to her Charisma modifier (minimum 1). During this time, she also gains use of the other ability gained at 1st level for her selected school. She does not gain any other abilities when using this exploit in this way, such as those gained at 8th level.

If the arcanist already has an arcane school (or gains one later), taking this exploit instead allows her arcanist levels to stack with the levels of the class that granted the arcane school when determining the powers and abilities of her arcane school.

and the ability in the exploiter wizard say

Exploiter Exploit: At 1st level and every 4 levels thereafter, the exploiter wizard gains a single arcanist exploit (see page 9). The exploiter wizard uses his wizard level as his arcanist level for determining the effects and DCs of his arcanist exploits. This ability replaces arcane school.

So can you still gain the benefit of an arcane school using the school understanding in a exploiter wizard?


An exploiter wizard can take the school understanding exploit and gain the same benefits as an arcanist of his level could.


Java Man wrote:
An exploiter wizard can take the school understanding exploit and gain the same benefits as an arcanist of his level could.

to explain more. he would count as a level 1 wizard even if he is level 20 , unless he can use a point from 'arcane reservoir' (i didn't check the class but i don't think they get that ability) and even then he would only get the 1st level abilities, never the 8th ( or 6th in some cases) level one.

the part about:
"If the arcanist already has an arcane school (or gains one later), taking this exploit instead allows her arcanist levels to stack with the levels of the class that granted the arcane school when determining the powers and abilities of her arcane school."

doesn't work since he never had the arcane school class ability from any other source. if he can get it from a different class (not wizard since his wizard gave it up) then his exploiter wizard levels would stack with that source.


That is correct. As I said, I believe the issue is an order of operations issue that is confusing you.

Wizard -> No archetype -> Has Arcane School as a class feature
Wizard -> Exploiter Wizard -> Has no Arcane School class feature, it is traded away for the Arcane Exploits class feature. Can select exploits as an Arcanist equal to their wizard level.

Arcanist -> Has no Arcane School class feature
Arcanist -> School Understanding exploit -> Gains a limited version of the Arcane School class feature of a wizard

Exploiter Wizard + School Understanding is treated just the same as an Arcanist with School Understanding. They do not regain their lost class feature, they only gain the limited version an Arcanist gets access to. Whatever class features a class gives up due to an archetype has no bearing on any future abilities they might gain.


you got your threads mixed up there DeathLessOne


zza ni wrote:
you got your threads mixed up there DeathLessOne

Nah, I knew which one I was posting in. I did not want to derail the other thread any further, so I moved over here.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / school undestandin in wizard All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.