
![]() |

So I was looking at the weapon properties and noticed this one . . .
A called weapon can be teleported to the wielder’s hand as a swift action that does not provoke attacks of opportunity, even if the weapon is in the possession of another creature. This ability has a maximum range of 100 feet, and effects that block teleportation prevent the return of a called weapon. A called weapon must be in a creature’s possession for at least 24 hours for this ability to function.
It got me wondering if you had a weapon with this property (for 27 hours to activiate it) and put it in a bag of holding or a handy haversack so you aren't obviously armed. Could you activate it to call the weapon to your hand? I assume it still counts as yours for activation purposes (otherwise you'd be sleeping with it) but and this may be a silly question but are bags of holding/handy haversacks within 100' or would they block this ability due to some interaction of being an extradimensional space?

Pizza Lord |
I believe that extradimensional and non-dimensional (as they're sometimes called and sometimes used interchangeably) spaces are not always considered other planes. They don't technically exist in any dimension but in most cases it seems like effects and objects can pass through them.
There are exceptions (or just specific rules for each, depending on how you look at it), rope trick specifically doesn't allow spells to cross it or area effects, but that's specific to that extradimensional space. A portable hole creates/is such a space, but there doesn't seem to be anything stopping air, spells, or effects from flying into or out of one (unless it's closed).
I believe if the bag or pocket in the haversack is actually open (which it should not normally be unless done purposefully) then it should work, but if the bag is closed, then no, similar to a portable hole being folded up, causing it to be sealed, but I don't actually have anything to support this currently.

Joesi |
I personally do not like ruling extradimensional spaces as being on alternate plane. I would only do-so for those that say something that specifically implies it.
For instance, Rope Trick says that spells cannot traverse the entrance, which seems to functionally indicate that it's on another plane. Even if it wasn't, due to spells not traversing it seems functionally equivalent. Frankly considering the duration and level of the spell, I'd consider even making certain particularly long-range spells work through Rope Tricks as well. (like Rope Trick travels "inwards" 1200 ft in all directions, so any spell would have to have a longer range than that to work, while also not requiring LOS/LOE)
Other stuff like Bag of Holding or Create Pit don't really imply that at all, and hence just have warped space. This prevents everyone from performing certain cheesy tactics such as hiding stuff from divinations (which includes detection magic such as Detect Magic) just by putting it in a Bag.
So to answer the question, I'd personally say a Called weapon could be teleported from a BoH, yes. But it's pretty much up to GM choice as to how they want the extradimensional mechanic to work.

![]() |

Joesi, what is the distance of the sword from you when it is in the Bag of holding?
Extradimensional Spaces
A number of spells and magic items utilize extradimensional spaces, such as rope trick, a bag of holding, a handy haversack, and a portable hole. These spells and magic items create a tiny pocket space that does not exist in any dimension. Such items do not function, however, inside another extradimensional space. If placed inside such a space, they cease to function until removed from the extradimensional space. For example, if a bag of holding is brought into a rope trick, the contents of the bag of holding become inaccessible until the bag of holding is taken outside the rope trick. The only exception to this is when a bag of holding and a portable hole interact, forming a rift to the Astral Plane, as noted in their descriptions.
The extradimensional spaces aren't in other planes, but neither they are in the character plane. What is in them is accessible only through the specific access to that extradimensional space.
Saying that the extradimensional space is within range of something outside of it is like saying that Thursday is within walking distance of Sunday.
It is different if the extradimensional space access point is open. Then you are within range of it, if you can draw a line of effect through the opening.

![]() |

Joesi, what is the distance of the sword from you when it is in the Bag of holding?
CRB wrote:Extradimensional Spaces
A number of spells and magic items utilize extradimensional spaces, such as rope trick, a bag of holding, a handy haversack, and a portable hole. These spells and magic items create a tiny pocket space that does not exist in any dimension. Such items do not function, however, inside another extradimensional space. If placed inside such a space, they cease to function until removed from the extradimensional space. For example, if a bag of holding is brought into a rope trick, the contents of the bag of holding become inaccessible until the bag of holding is taken outside the rope trick. The only exception to this is when a bag of holding and a portable hole interact, forming a rift to the Astral Plane, as noted in their descriptions.The extradimensional spaces aren't in other planes, but neither they are in the character plane. What is in them is accessible only through the specific access to that extradimensional space.
Saying that the extradimensional space is within range of something outside of it is like saying that Thursday is within walking distance of Sunday.
It is different if the extradimensional space access point is open. Then you are within range of it, if you can draw a line of effect through the opening.
That raises the question how tightly do you need to seal a handy haversack/bag of holding for there to be no access? For that matter given their nature can you seal them that much (no zippers in this period). For that matter you have things like the runelord robes with pockets that function as a handy haversack which probably can't be sealed at all (don't turn them upside down). They wouldn't even have the elastic pocket you get on some clothing that pulls shut due to the material.

VoodistMonk |

That raises the question how tightly do you need to seal a handy haversack/bag of holding for there to be no access? For that matter given their nature can you seal them that much (no zippers in this period).
Only tightly enough that "the wearer" cannot reach into it.
It doesn't say it works for anyone else but "the wearer", and it apparently "knows" exactly what the wearer is looking for. So if the wearer is looking for nothing, and wants nothing from the bag, then nothing is "on top"... nothing is near the opening, and nothing ever falls out accidentally.
But "the wearer" reaching into the bag seems to be required, so closing it tightly enough to prevent "the wearer" from getting their hand or paw or tail inside the bag should be enough to effectly remove access to what's inside... just like real life. Lol.

Ryze Kuja |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

As a hypothetical example, imagine if you were standing in a circular room full of portals going to 15 different planes and dimensions of existence, and then you walked through one of the portals just barely far enough so that you're physically inside that plane of existence but can still see everything in the previous 15-portal room, would you allow them to Teleport between all 14 of the other portals because you can see into the other dimension from the current dimension you're in? Would you allow them to teleport from where they are back into the portal room?
I would say No to both, personally. I view Dimensions as the same as Planes. Teleport cannot be used for interplanar travel.
Interplanar travel is not possible.
And if you agree with the above, then you can't use Teleport to teleport between dimensions, and a bag of holding is an extra dimensional space (whether open or closed, it's still an extra dimensional space), and the Called weapon property is based upon the Teleport spell.

Ryze Kuja |

@OP if the goal you seek is to appear unarmed, I'd recommend getting Gloves of Storing. You can put a 20lbs weapon in your glove, cast an illusion on your gloves to make them appear dilapidated and not-masterwork quality, and no one would be the wiser. The only person you wouldn't fool would be someone who has a decent understanding of magic items, but also would need to interact with the illusion first.

![]() |

Wondrous items don't need to be masterwork items. Only weapons and armor.
Several items have descriptions (weapons and armors included) that say that they appear anything but high quality.
"Gauntlet of Rust: This single metal gauntlet looks rusted and pitted but is actually quite powerful."
"Ring of Emancipation: This single thick iron band makes for a rather ugly ring. Rust pits the surface of the ring in places and the item seems on the brink of falling apart. Occasionally, these rings bear a tiny chain link or dented tankard symbol."

Ryze Kuja |

I would still use an illusion. Glove of Storing is a single leather glove. And anyone who has any experience with this would know exactly what they're looking at when you're Michael Jacksoning your way through the guards at the gate. I'd probably use an illusion to make it appear as an old blacksmith's glove, and make it appear as if I'm wearing two. If it's a guard shack at a corrupt governor's mansion, I'd probably use an illusion to make them posh and froofy gloves, as well as a posh outfit to match.

![]() |

Thanks but this isn't about really about appearing unarmed just wondering rules wise what happens in this situation. I mainly included that comment because calling to me is generally used to appear unarmed. Either voluntarily or because you've just been arrested.
That not falling out may work for haversacks but bags of holding, portable holes and other extradimensional spaces don't have that sorting function and appear to be always open

Scavion |

I would still use an illusion. Glove of Storing is a single leather glove. And anyone who has any experience with this would know exactly what they're looking at when you're Michael Jacksoning your way through the guards at the gate. I'd probably use an illusion to make it appear as an old blacksmith's glove, and make it appear as if I'm wearing two. If it's a guard shack at a corrupt governor's mansion, I'd probably use an illusion to make them posh and froofy gloves, as well as a posh outfit to match.
That seems like a lot of work instead of just...wearing a second glove that matches the Glove of Storing, but is non-magical.

Azothath |
The Handy Haversack prevents teleporting objects in and out ("... each is like a bag of holding ..." thus different planes) thus Called won't function. There are other ways (mundane and magical) of getting things out of the bag (usually reaching in, familiar, unseen servant(GM approval as to move or standard action).
The Glove of Storing works but is rather expensive.
You way want to review the spells: Disguise Weapon, Hide Weapon, Shadow Weapon, Hidden Blades, Instant Weapon, and Weaponwand.
Then: Spring-loaded Wrist Sheath.

![]() |

The Handy Haversack prevents teleporting objects in and out ("... each is like a bag of holding ..." thus different planes) thus Called won't function. There are other ways (mundane and magical) of getting things out of the bag (usually reaching in, familiar, unseen servant(GM approval as to move or standard action).
The Glove of Storing works but is rather expensive.You way want to review the spells: Disguise Weapon, Hide Weapon, Shadow Weapon, Hidden Blades, Instant Weapon, and Weaponwand.
Then: Spring-loaded Wrist Sheath.
The issue I have with that and the line "magical items inside the bag offer no benefit to the character carrying it" is you could potentially lose things like a called property weapons atunement meaning you need to wear it for 24 hours again before being able to use it if it is turly a different plane.
There's also the fact its refered to as a non-dimensional space which is an odd definition.

Gilfalas |

Since I believe RAW is not 100% clear on this I will tell you how our table plays it when it came up.
Bags of holding, handy haversacks, etc are normally 'closed' when not being interacted with physically, like putting things in and taking things out by hand. When they are 'closed' the extra dimensional spaces are sealed off from this plane and not accessible. If the bags are 'open' then the extra dimensional spaces have a conduit to our dimension (which is why you can put things in and take them out) and then you could 'call' stiff from the spaces since there is a line of effect so to speak.
Generally it is assumed at our table that things are 'closed' as a rule. Handy Haversacks are a notable exception since they are often used for accessing combat usable 'things' by our group.
Hope this helps.

Joesi |
Joesi, what is the distance of the sword from you when it is in the Bag of holding?
This is a good question, and it's relevant even if the bag is open. This is because BoH does not have any defined internal dimensions. It's an issue that goes beyond whether it's contents is extraplanar or not. Keep in mind that we're dealing with impossibilities here; paradoxes. There's no way for it to make proper sense with physics regardless of whether you put it on another plane or not. BoH1 has 30 cubic ft max volume(which might as well be a sphere), putting the sword's distance at about 2 feet away from someone holding the bag (0-3.8 if on the edge).
The extradimensional spaces aren't in other planes, but neither they are in the character plane. What is in them is accessible only through the specific access to that extradimensional space.
I understand this reasoning, and it can certainly be a valid way for a GM to rule, but it's not like there's any RAW or realism that can be applied to say that it is the correct way of doing things.
I'd assert that for my system those limitations only apply to material things, and that certain types of magic —such as those which do not need line of effect such as Divination magic— and probably even incorporeal entities can travel through the extradimensional gateway even when it is closed. We're dealing with magic and fantasy here, so it's not like one can say that doesn't make sense that magic goes through some stuff.
("... each is like a bag of holding ..." thus different planes) thus Called won't function.
Bag of holdings say nothing about being extraplanar. And the rules regarding extradimensional spaces in general merely says:"These spells and magic items create a tiny pocket space that does not exist in any dimension.". "Dimension" is a vague word, which could be interpreted in various ways. It could just mean does not exist in normal 3D space, but still on the same plane, for instance.

![]() |

Diego Rossi wrote:The distance is " - ", an unknowable data. I don't see how you can argue that a distance that can't be measured is "within a specific distance".Except you can stick an arm into that distance.
No, you can open the bag and then stick an arm in the opening.
You can't stick an arm into the bag from any other direction, actually forcing your arm into the bag without opening it will break it and the content will be forever lost.Read the text I cited: "These spells and magic items create a tiny pocket space that does not exist in any dimension."
How do you get that it is easily accessible from "does not exist in any dimension"?
Some other citations from the Bag of holding:
"If living creatures are placed within the bag, they can survive for up to 10 minutes, after which time they suffocate." As written it doesn't even care if the bag is open or closed. RAW air doesn't enter into the Bag even when it is open.
"Retrieving a specific item from a bag of holding is a move action, unless the bag contains more than an ordinary backpack would hold, in which case retrieving a specific item is a full-round action." I would like to see someone retrieving an object from the bottom of a backpack using a move action. Or retrieving a specific item from a container with 250 lbs of assorted material in 6 seconds. Apparently magic helps you with that, so retrieving an item isn't simply "sticking your arm into the bag", it is using a magic item.
"Magic items placed inside the bag do not offer any benefit to the character carrying the bag." Getting the sword in your hand without opening the Bag is decidedly benefitting from a power of an item put into the bag, so contrary of the description of the Bag.

Ryze Kuja |

Senko wrote:Diego Rossi wrote:The distance is " - ", an unknowable data. I don't see how you can argue that a distance that can't be measured is "within a specific distance".Except you can stick an arm into that distance.No, you can open the bag and then stick an arm in the opening.
You can't stick an arm into the bag from any other direction, actually forcing your arm into the bag without opening it will break it and the content will be forever lost.Read the text I cited: "These spells and magic items create a tiny pocket space that does not exist in any dimension."
How do you get that it is easily accessible from "does not exist in any dimension"?Some other citations from the Bag of holding:
"If living creatures are placed within the bag, they can survive for up to 10 minutes, after which time they suffocate." As written it doesn't even care if the bag is open or closed. RAW air doesn't enter into the Bag even when it is open.
"Retrieving a specific item from a bag of holding is a move action, unless the bag contains more than an ordinary backpack would hold, in which case retrieving a specific item is a full-round action." I would like to see someone retrieving an object from the bottom of a backpack using a move action. Or retrieving a specific item from a container with 250 lbs of assorted material in 6 seconds. Apparently magic helps you with that, so retrieving an item isn't simply "sticking your arm into the bag", it is using a magic item.
"Magic items placed inside the bag do not offer any benefit to the character carrying the bag." Getting the sword in your hand without opening the Bag is decidedly benefitting from a power of an item put into the bag, so contrary of the description of the Bag.
Channel your inner Harry Potter and Accio that item as a Swift Action!

![]() |

Senko wrote:Diego Rossi wrote:The distance is " - ", an unknowable data. I don't see how you can argue that a distance that can't be measured is "within a specific distance".Except you can stick an arm into that distance.No, you can open the bag and then stick an arm in the opening.
You can't stick an arm into the bag from any other direction, actually forcing your arm into the bag without opening it will break it and the content will be forever lost.Read the text I cited: "These spells and magic items create a tiny pocket space that does not exist in any dimension."
How do you get that it is easily accessible from "does not exist in any dimension"?Some other citations from the Bag of holding:
"If living creatures are placed within the bag, they can survive for up to 10 minutes, after which time they suffocate." As written it doesn't even care if the bag is open or closed. RAW air doesn't enter into the Bag even when it is open.
"Retrieving a specific item from a bag of holding is a move action, unless the bag contains more than an ordinary backpack would hold, in which case retrieving a specific item is a full-round action." I would like to see someone retrieving an object from the bottom of a backpack using a move action. Or retrieving a specific item from a container with 250 lbs of assorted material in 6 seconds. Apparently magic helps you with that, so retrieving an item isn't simply "sticking your arm into the bag", it is using a magic item.
"Magic items placed inside the bag do not offer any benefit to the character carrying the bag." Getting the sword in your hand without opening the Bag is decidedly benefitting from a power of an item put into the bag, so contrary of the description of the Bag.
Fair point about the air but mine was while there is only one entrance that entrance is finite you can reach across it. There may well be a barrier of some sort limiting access but that access is not infinite.
I am now wondering what someone put in a bag of holding would see (and how they'd fit into the opening)? For that matter I remember in 1st ed a sword could pierce the interior of a bag of holding and rupture it. I need to see if that rule's still around and if it apply's to bags of holding.