
Pizza Lord |
Considering teleport as the baseline, No.
You can bring along objects as long as their weight doesn’t exceed your maximum load.
This means that, alone, you can't teleport an object greater than your maximum load, even if you can lift it.
If your maximum load is 100 lbs, you can lift a 100 lb. object over your head. This is a bit deceptive, since you can actually to lift an object of 101 to 200 lbs., though you can only stagger about with it. You couldn't teleport with it, even though you can lift it.A character can lift as much as double his maximum load off the ground, but he or she can only stagger around with it. While overloaded in this way, the character loses any Dexterity bonus to AC and can move only 5 feet per round (as a full-round action).
In the case of multiple targets for teleport:
You may also bring one additional willing Medium or smaller creature (carrying gear or objects up to its maximum load) or its equivalent per three caster levels.
Even if you had 4 people spread out around an object, the spell doesn't take into account 'relative weight'. If one of the targets isn't actually carrying the object (and below maximum load), then it can't teleport the object. The fact that 4 people are distributing its weight doesn't make it weigh less any more than propping it on a floating disk, having it under the effects of a levitate spell, or casting teleport while the object is feather falling. Its weight is still over their limit.
Otherwise unless your spell actually reduces the weight of the object (ala the lighten object spell), just sharing the load (other than somehow dividing the object into separate parts) doesn't change it. This is most easily handled by increasing the carrying capacity of one character (usually the strongest) with buff spells like ant haul or putting it on a mule. Mules are usually good choices; despite being Medium, the fact that they're quadrupeds increases their carrying capacity, same for horses, but their size will cut into your targets per level.

Pizza Lord |
I'm not talking about overloaded to the point of staggering, just a group of people lifting an object that they can carry at normal speed. (For example, two people picking up a stretcher.)
By the wording of the spell, teleport (as opposed to teleport object, for instance), the spell only cares about the target's maximum load and the weight of the objects and gear being carried. How easily or difficult it is for the caster to move has no bearing on it, whether they're a halfling, a mule, or a dwarf and not hindered or slowed by encumbrance. It's based purely on weight and carrying capacity.
When dealing with multiple targets, each one can be 'carrying gear or objects up to its maximum load'. It doesn't mention combined weight or say 'objects up to their total max loads'.
The spell does not account for weight distribution, shared loads, or 'relative encumbrance'. So the answer is no. A GM can certainly rule otherwise, but that would be doing something the spell is not intended to allow. There are plenty of ways to easily get around the limitation. Either divide up the objects being carried amongst the targets (not an option for large, homogenous object of course), lighten the actual weight of the object (lighten object) or its encumbrance on you (placing it in a bag of holding or portable hole), increase the strength or carrying capacity of a target (bull's strength, ant haul, etc.). Also, spells that increase size, such as enlarge will also increase carrying capacity (as well as a bit of Strength), as Larger creatures have increased capacity. Similarly, a polymorph or wild shape into a four-legged creature will also allow increased carrying capacity over a similar size creature.

DungeonmasterCal |

KahnyaGnorc wrote:I do not think RAW take into account shared burden between teleportees. So, GM's discretion imo.This...
But I think most reasonable GMs would allow it, it's not attempting to do anything "extra"....
It's something that's never come up in one of my games, but I'd probably allow it. I'll fold, spindle, or mutilate a rule once in a while, usually in the name of GM Fiat or the Rule of Cool.

Mysterious Stranger |

Breaking this down I would say that RAW it should work. First is the item in question being carried? Yes the object is being carried. Is anyone carrying more than their maximum load? No, No one is carrying more than their maximum load. Are you high enough level to bring all the extra creatures and the gear they are carrying? So as long as the characters being teleported are actually carrying the object and you are able to teleport them it should work. If the object is not being carried it will not.
The section on teleporting others only covers what the characters are actually carrying. Only the caster can bring extra object and that is subject to his maximum load.

Pizza Lord |
The section on teleporting others only covers what the characters are actually carrying. Only the caster can bring extra object and that is subject to his maximum load.
I don't know where you're getting that.
You may also bring one additional willing Medium or smaller creature (carrying gear or objects up to its maximum load) or its equivalent per three caster levels.
It's very, very clear that anything over a target's maximum load will not allow teleportation. If it's over their maximum load, whether they are able to carry it or not, it doesn't work.

![]() |

Ant haul as a potion is something we probably don't give enough credit to. In practice, most adventurers on Golarion who can afford such a potion would carry one around just in case.
Heck, I'd love to have one on Earth. Would have been great to be able to push my car out of the mud by myself that time it got stuck.

Mysterious Stranger |

The core rule book specifies you can bring along objects as long as it is not over you maximum load. It also says you can bring creatures and the gear they are carrying. Notice the first word inside the parentheses is carrying. That means they actually have to be carrying it, it cannot be lying around on the ground next to them. The caster on the other hand can bring things it is not carrying.
This spell instantly transports you to a designated destination, which may be as distant as 100 miles per caster level. Interplanar travel is not possible. You can bring along objects as long as their weight doesn't exceed your maximum load. You may also bring one additional willing Medium or smaller creature (carrying gear or objects up to its maximum load) or its equivalent per three caster levels.

Loren Pechtel |
The core rule book specifies you can bring along objects as long as it is not over you maximum load. It also says you can bring creatures and the gear they are carrying. Notice the first word inside the parentheses is carrying. That means they actually have to be carrying it, it cannot be lying around on the ground next to them. The caster on the other hand can bring things it is not carrying.
This spell instantly transports you to a designated destination, which may be as distant as 100 miles per caster level. Interplanar travel is not possible. You can bring along objects as long as their weight doesn't exceed your maximum load. You may also bring one additional willing Medium or smaller creature (carrying gear or objects up to its maximum load) or its equivalent per three caster levels.
Which completely misses the point.
Caster (can lift 200 pounds) and companion (can lift 200 pounds). Can they take a pole, attach a 300 pound object to it and put it between their shoulders and teleport?
The two people certainly can lift the pole + object and walk with it--probably not at normal speed because of the required coordination, but I've carried objects with another person that way, it certainly can be done.
The question is whether the spell accepts the load being split between the two people. If either tried to lift it the teleport would fail, but as configured nobody is overloaded. It doesn't seem there is any standard ruling on this scenario.

Mysterious Stranger |

In my first post I stated that as long as the object is being carried and no one is above maximum load it would work.
The caster and only the caster can bring along other items without carrying them as long as they are not over the casters maximum load. So the caster who is standing in the middle of a pile of lose coins can bring coins equal to his maximum load minus the weight of any gear he is actually carrying. He can also teleport creatures, as specified by the spell. But those creatures cannot bring any lose coins, nor can the caster bring the anymore coins more than he can already teleport.