2e Magus Spellstrike and Scorching Ray


Rules Discussion


I am wondering if you can use the two-action Scorching Ray with the Spellstrike activity. I'm under the impression you can because under Spellstrike Specifics, "The spell targets only the target of your Strike, even if it normally allows more targets. Some feats let you affect more creatures." -SoM pg.37 and Scorching Ray reads, "Make a spell attack roll against a single creature. On a hit, the target takes 2d6 fire damage, and on a critical hit, the target takes double damage. For each additional action you use when Casting the Spell, you can fire an additional ray at a different target, to a maximum of three rays targeting three different targets for 3 actions. These attacks each increase your multiple attack penalty, but you don’t increase your multiple attack penalty until after you make all the spell attack rolls for scorching ray. If you spend 2 or more actions Casting the Spell, the damage increases to 4d6 fire damage on a hit, and it still deals double damage on a critical hit." -SoM pg.127 So can one use Spellstrike with the two-action version?


2 people marked this as a favorite.

Yes, but the fire damage would only be 4d6. The second 4d6 ray would essentially be wasted.


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Ezekieru wrote:
Yes, but the fire damage would only be 4d6. The second 4d6 ray would essentially be wasted.

Until you get spellswipe at lvl 8.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / 2e Magus Spellstrike and Scorching Ray All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Discussion