Mogmurch

DryRibGaming's page

8 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 1 alias.


RSS


On page 46 of the AP under "encounter sites" it mentions there are four traits for hex encounters: landmark, resource, standard, and secret. However, I found one not mentioned anywhere called "hidden." The earliest I found this trait is on Page 59 (GB3) and I can't find it anywhere online. Until I get official word from Paizo, I'll be using the rules for the secret trait, I suppose.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Prerequisites dedicated gate
Frequency once per 10 minutes
Trigger You’re targeted by an effect that has the trait matching
the element you can channel.
Your absolute dedication to a single element lets you attempt to gain control over it, even when the element is in service of another. You attempt to counteract the effect. If you successfully counteract the effect and have a hand free, you can choose to catch some of the attack, allowing you to
immediately Gather that Element as part of the reaction.

1) It's only for dedicated gate
2) It's only vs spells targeting you specifically and not an ally nor an area
3) It has the impulse trait so you have to have the element all ready gathered so the last sentence is void since "Gathering an Element again causes any element you’ve already gathered to dissipate." pg.5


"If you die to this impulse, you return to life at the start of your next turn in the same space. When you return, you have Hit Points equal to double your level." pg.21

By the time you gain this 18th level feat, you have Elemental Immunity at 17th, "Your elemental resistance becomes full immunity. While you have an element gathered, you’re immune to effects with that trait; you can voluntarily allow them to affect you." pg.8

And don't think the Overflow trait will remove this immunity as it states, "When you use an impulse that has the overflow trait, any element you have gathered disappears after your action." pg.4

Granted, one could voluntarily allow ASEiF to affect you but at that point you are also a master in Reflex saves and get a critical success on a success so it's quite unlikely to kill you since in PF2e, you cannot voluntarily fail saves unless an effect specifies otherwise.


A question that came up in my play group when building a character using the multiclass variant for a fighter/kineticist. This then added the question "does it change to the weapon group of the weapon it becomes with Elemental Weapon"?

An excerpt from our chat...
The Elemental Weapon would be whatever group.... wait, hmm... Ok, it uses your unarmed proficiency, but they aren't part of that group
If you crit with the weapon version... I guess it still uses its own crit effect?
That part isn't explicit

Thanks for any opinions regarding this.


I am wondering if you can use the two-action Scorching Ray with the Spellstrike activity. I'm under the impression you can because under Spellstrike Specifics, "The spell targets only the target of your Strike, even if it normally allows more targets. Some feats let you affect more creatures." -SoM pg.37 and Scorching Ray reads, "Make a spell attack roll against a single creature. On a hit, the target takes 2d6 fire damage, and on a critical hit, the target takes double damage. For each additional action you use when Casting the Spell, you can fire an additional ray at a different target, to a maximum of three rays targeting three different targets for 3 actions. These attacks each increase your multiple attack penalty, but you don’t increase your multiple attack penalty until after you make all the spell attack rolls for scorching ray. If you spend 2 or more actions Casting the Spell, the damage increases to 4d6 fire damage on a hit, and it still deals double damage on a critical hit." -SoM pg.127 So can one use Spellstrike with the two-action version?


Decimus Drake wrote:
I hadn't realised they'd been released.

They haven't yet. Releases August 25th. Just asking after watching a Paizo livestream.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Since “You have to either Cast that Spell during the crafting process, or someone else must do so in your presence.”-CRB pg.565, can a magus/summoner with, for example, 5th and 6th level spell slots craft magic items that require 4th and lower level spells to create?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Since “You have to either Cast that Spell during the crafting process, or someone else must do so in your presence.”-CRB pg.565, can a magus/summoner with, for example, 5th and 6th level spell slots craft magic items that require 4th and lower level spells to create?