Cloak of Colors


Rules Discussion


My group is looking at 5th level spells and had some questions about the spell Cloak of Colors page 324 in the core rulebook.

Our questions are
1) on a failure the attacker is blinded for one round. When exactly does the blindness effect end on the attacker?
2) on a critical failure the effect is stunned (with no value) for one round. The creature is temporarily immune to until the end of its turn. We assume that the attacker finishes their turn, then becomes stunned. When does the stunned effect end? Can the stunned creature use reactions?


1) I am inferring start of their next turn (blinded for one round = every other creature in the initiative orders gets one turn while the attacker is blinded due to failed will save)

2) doesn’t the spell say “The attacker is stunned for 1 round.”?
and the rules state that “Stunned might also have a duration instead of a value, such as “stunned for 1 minute.” In this case, you lose all your actions for the listed duration.”
Reaction is a type of action; so if “In this case, you lose all your actions for the listed duration.”, you cannot use reactions.


Thanks for the quick response. Your reasoning matched mine as well.


Resurrecting this thread since I have some questions as well about this spell...

"A cloak of swirling colors shrouds the target. Creatures are dazzled while adjacent to it, and attacking the target causes a brilliant flash of light. A creature that hits the target with a melee attack must attempt a Will save.
Success The attacker is unaffected.
Failure The attacker is blinded for 1 round.
Critical Failure The attacker is stunned for 1 round.

The creature is temporarily immune until the end of its turn; this effect has the incapacitation trait."

1- I assume that "the creature is temporarily immune until the end of its turn" means that the attacker only has to save once against the spell even if it makes several attacks against the target protected by the cloak of colors. Is that right?

2- The same line says that the effect has the incapacitation trait. Is it referring to the blinded condition, the stunned condition, both..?

Thanks!


1 person marked this as a favorite.

What the developers mean by that: I don't know.

What makes sense to me from a balance perspective and such: Re-ordering and changing the spacing.

Such as:

A cloak of swirling colors shrouds the target. Creatures are dazzled while adjacent to it, and attacking the target causes a brilliant flash of light.

A creature that hits the target with a melee attack must attempt a Will save. The creature is temporarily immune until the end of its turn; this effect has the incapacitation trait.
Success The attacker is unaffected.
Failure The attacker is blinded for 1 round.
Critical Failure The attacker is stunned for 1 round.

That is how I would run it. The dazzling effect does not have the Incapacitation trait (and actually doesn't allow a save anyway, so it wouldn't matter if it did). And the temporary immunity is indeed so that an attacker only has to make a save once per round no matter how many attacks they make.

My reasoning: Having the incapacitation trait on only one of the outcomes of a save doesn't make sense. It works on Scare to Death because the incapacitation trait is applied to the entire secondary saving throw against the death effect. But incapacitation has to be a trait of a full set of save outcomes, not just one of them.


Sc8rpi8n_mjd wrote:
- The same line says that the effect has the incapacitation trait. Is it referring to the blinded condition, the stunned condition, both..?

If I'm reading right both in book and in AoN they are referring to "The creature is temporarily immune until the end of its turn;"

This is referring to the immune effect! So a stronger creature cannot become imune! kkkkk

I'm joking.This incapacitation only effect the stun effect. Usually abilities that has a stun effect that endures 3 or more actions usually receives incapacitant trait. In fact usually any effect that prevents a creature to act during its turn usually is considered incapacitant and received the trait.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Cloak of Colors All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.