Shield of Reckoning


Rules Discussion

Grand Lodge

Since it came up in another thread, and I don't want to derail said thread anymore than it already has been, I will bring the topic here.
Can you use Shield of Reckoning (champion feat) more than once per round?
My answer is yes and here is the relevant rules references.

Shield Block wrote:

Trigger: While you have your shield raised, you would take damage from a physical attack.

Effect: You snap your shield in place to ward off a blow. Your shield prevents you from taking an amount of damage up to the shield’s Hardness. You and the shield each take any remaining damage, possibly breaking or destroying the shield.
Retributive Strike wrote:

Trigger An enemy damages your ally, and both are within 15 feet of you.

Effect: You protect your ally and strike your foe. The ally gains resistance to all damage against the triggering damage equal to 2 + your level. If the foe is within reach, make a melee Strike against it.
Shield Warden wrote:

Prerequisites divine ally (shield), tenets of good

Effect: You use your shield to protect your allies as well as yourself. When you have a shield raised, you can use your Shield Block reaction when an attack is made against an ally adjacent to you. If you do, the shield prevents that ally from taking damage instead of preventing you from taking damage, following the normal rules for Shield Block.
Quick Block wrote:
You can block with your shield instinctively. At the start of each of your turns, you gain an additional reaction that you can use only to perform a Shield Block.
Shield of Reckoning wrote:

Prerequisites champion’s reaction, Shield Warden

Trigger A foe’s attack against an ally matches the trigger for both your Shield Block reaction and your champion’s reaction.
Effect: When you shield your ally against an attack, you call upon your power to protect your ally further. You use the Shield Block reaction to prevent damage to an ally and also use your champion’s reaction against the foe that attacked your ally.

In addition to the feat language, we need to reference the text of these rules as well...

Reactions wrote:
Reactions have triggers, which must be met for you to use the reaction. You can use a reaction anytime its trigger is met, whether it’s your turn or not. In an encounter, you get 1 reaction each round, which you can use as described on page 468. Outside of encounters, your use of reactions is more flexible and up to the GM. Reactions are usually triggered by other creatures or by events outside your control.
Flourish wrote:
Flourishes are techniques that require too much exertion to perform a large number in a row. You can use only 1 action with the flourish trait per turn.
Turn wrote:

When it’s your turn to act, you can use single actions,

short activities, reactions, and free actions. When you’re finished, your turn ends and the character next in the initiative order begins their turn.
This is also defined in the glossary as
During a round in an encounter, each creature takes a single turn. A creature typically uses up to 3 actions during its turn.

Discussion?


I mean you would need a way to actually be able to use it twice in the 1st place. There isn't a quick block or divine reflexes like feat that lets you get a free use of it every round.

Grand Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.

You do. Shield of Reckoning is a rider on top of Shield Block. It clearly says that anytime your shield block and retribution conditions are met, you can use Shield of Reckoning. The Quick Block provides an additional reaction that allows you to shield block. Since you are within melee range in order to shield block, you will be within range for the champion reaction as well. Therefore, you can use Shield of Reckoning twice in a round, though it does have to occur on different creature turns.

Remember, an important aspect of PF2E is that the rules do what they say, and do not do things (or restrict things) they don't say. For example, Sudden Charge says nothing about turning corners, difficult terrain, allies in the way, etc. So while we are used to, in previous editions, charging having a lot of restrictions, it no longer does. There are no other restrictions on the feat than precisely what it says it does.

Horizon Hunters

1 person marked this as a favorite.

But how would you get the second reaction to use it? Quick Block gives you a reaction exclusively for Shield Block, not any other reaction that includes it. Sure you could Still Shield Block an ally, but Shield of Reckoning is its own reaction in itself.


TwilightKnight wrote:
You do. Shield of Reckoning is a rider on top of Shield Block. It clearly says that anytime your shield block and retribution conditions are met, you can use Shield of Reckoning. The Quick Block provides an additional reaction that allows you to shield block. Since you are within melee range in order to shield block, you will be within range for the champion reaction as well. Therefore, you can use Shield of Reckoning twice in a round, though it does have to occur on different creature turns.

Shield of reckoning is a separate reaction, hence why it has the reaction symbol. If it was an upgrade to shield block it wouldn't have that.

Horizon Hunters

1 person marked this as a favorite.
TwilightKnight wrote:
You do. Shield of Reckoning is a rider on top of Shield Block. It clearly says that anytime your shield block and retribution conditions are met, you can use Shield of Reckoning. The Quick Block provides an additional reaction that allows you to shield block. Since you are within melee range in order to shield block, you will be within range for the champion reaction as well. Therefore, you can use Shield of Reckoning twice in a round, though it does have to occur on different creature turns.

No, the trigger is "A foe’s attack against an ally matches the trigger for both your Shield Block reaction and your champion’s reaction." This doesn't mean you can use it instead of Shield Block. It's a reaction that has the trigger of

"While you have your shield raised, an ally would take damage from a physical attack, AND An enemy damages your ally, and both are within 15 feet of you."

Technically, RAW Shield of Reckoning can't actually work. The trigger requires it be used both before and after damage is dealt, but lets just simplify it to:

"While you have your shield raised, an ally would take damage from a physical attack, and the enemy and ally are within 15 feet of you."

As you can see, this isn't the same as Shield Block.


2 people marked this as a favorite.

From the rules on actions in the CRB:

Quote:

Using an activity is not the same as using any of its subordinate actions. For example, the quickened condition you get from the haste spell lets you spend an extra action each turn to Stride or Strike, but you couldn’t use the extra action for an activity that includes a Stride or Strike. As another example, if you used an action that specified, “If the next action you use is a Strike,” an activity that includes a Strike wouldn’t count, because the next thing you are doing is starting an activity, not using the Strike basic action.

Shield of Reckoning is not Shield Block. It allows you to perform a shield block, but it is not the actual shield block action in and of itself. It is its own unique reaction.

You can't SoR off Quick Block in the same way you can't use Haste to perform a Twin Takedown or Power Attack off an Attack of Opportunity.

Grand Lodge

Clearly it is an upgrade to Shield Block because it requires it as a prerequisite.

The Quick Block grants you an extra reaction to be used for Shield Block. Shield of Reckoning says it applies anytime you qualify for Shield Block.

Horizon Hunters

2 people marked this as a favorite.
TwilightKnight wrote:

Clearly it is an upgrade to Shield Block because it requires it as a prerequisite.

The Quick Block grants you an extra reaction to be used for Shield Block. Shield of Reckoning says it applies anytime you qualify for Shield Block.

Prerequisites don't mean it's an upgrade. Shield Warden is an upgrade because it says you can do something different with the Shield Block reaction. This is a new reaction that uses Shield Block inside it.

Scarab Sages

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Shield of Reckoning is its own reaction that has Shield Block and the champion's reaction as subordinate reactions; abilities such as Quick Shield or Shield Warden that allow you to use Shield Block don't also allow you to use Shield of Reckoning. Sort of like how a monk cannot use Flurry of Blows in place of the Strike granted by Stand Still.

Now, it is odd that Shield of Reckoning cannot be used with its prerequisite feat Shield Warden. One would think that it works like Knockdown and Improved Knockdown, but it doesn't because Shield of Reckoning is a reaction and Improved Knockdown isn't.

If I were to re-write Shield of Reckoning so it does what the OP initially thought it did, I would change the second sentence to read "When you use the Shield Block reaction to prevent damage to an ally from an attack that matches the trigger for your champion’s reaction, you can also use your champion’s reaction against the foe that attacked your ally."

Liberty's Edge

I was pretty much convinced by the posts above about Shield of reckoning being its own reaction, and thus only usable once each round. Until I noticed it has the Flurry trait. Why put the Flurry trait on something that can only be used once each round?


The Raven Black wrote:
I was pretty much convinced by the posts above about Shield of reckoning being its own reaction, and thus only usable once each round. Until I noticed it has the Flurry trait. Why put the Flurry trait on something that can only be used once each round?

Do you mean Flourish, don't you?

Anyway, in my opinion it's because the CRB was the first book ( and they wasn't sure that in the future there wouldn't have been ways to gain extra "general" reactions ).

Not to say that some feats also mention the flourish trait in their description, like flurry of blows

Quote:
Make two unarmed Strikes. If both hit the same creature, combine their damage for the purpose of resistances and weaknesses. Apply your multiple attack penalty to the Strikes normally. As it has the flourish trait, you can use Flurry of Blows only once per turn.

It's totally random and not related.

I also think that they meant to give a flourish action per round rather than turn, especially given the description.

Quote:
Flourish actions are actions that require too much exertion to perform a large number in a row You can use only 1 action with the flourish trait per turn.

This also leads to the encounter part

Quote:
When every individual action counts, you enter the encounter mode of play. In this mode, time is divided into rounds, each of which is 6 seconds of time in the game world. Every round, each participant takes a turn in an established order. During your turn, you can use actions, and depending on the details of the encounter, you might have the opportunity to use reactions and free actions on your own turn and on others’ turns.

There has also been a slight of debate about the Turn/Round difference, but since the whole round happens in 6 seconds and flourish moves are tied to 1 per turn, indirectly they should be once per round too ( the point in my opinion is that you can't perform more than one flourish move per 6 seconds, which is 1 round and also the duration of your turn ).

Or else the flourish trait description wouldn't mean anything, since character would be able to use many flourish moves divided in different moments ( Flurry of blows, Ready action with doctor visitation depends the party member in danger, then shield of reckoning ).

Scarab Sages

The Raven Black wrote:
I was pretty much convinced by the posts above about Shield of reckoning being its own reaction, and thus only usable once each round. Until I noticed it has the Flurry trait. Why put the Flurry trait on something that can only be used once each round?

Flourish means once per turn not once per round. But your point stands, it seems redundant on a reaction. Unless there are other Reactions with the flourish trait?

I think Shield of Reckoning might be a good candidate for errata.


I would like to note that this is almost possible baseline, it just because shield of reckoning is level 10 and you need boundless reprisals which is a level 20 fighter feat. If you are doing a dual-class campaign sure (but the dual-class rules do state to try and avoid combining martial classes, especially fighter)


It does read like the well-constructed Champion could end up with three reactions per round though: one Shield Block (quick block) plus one Champion's Reaction (Divine Reflexes) plus a Shield of Reckoning (or Attack of Opportunity)... on top of the usual three actions that's impressive economy!

NECR0G1ANT wrote:
The Raven Black wrote:
I was pretty much convinced by the posts above about Shield of reckoning being its own reaction, and thus only usable once each round. Until I noticed it has the Flurry trait. Why put the Flurry trait on something that can only be used once each round?

Flourish means once per turn not once per round. But your point stands, it seems redundant on a reaction. Unless there are other Reactions with the flourish trait?

I think Shield of Reckoning might be a good candidate for errata.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Shield of Reckoning All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.