If a pixie did pick pokers, how many pokers could a pixie pick?


Rules Discussion


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Can a pixie archer carry 100 tiny arrows, and if so, how much of the pixie's bulk capacity does it use up?

Been having some trouble wrapping my head around the bulk conversation rules since Light bulk doesn't appear to exist for Tiny characters.


For tiny size objects, light bulk should become negligible. At least this is how I understood the various tables.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

My understanding is that Light becomes negligible when you shrink it to Tiny size. (based on table 6-20)

And since 10 negligible is 1 bulk for Tiny it's basically the same.

That's enforced by the comment in 6—19 about

Quote:
A Tiny creature treats 10 items of negligible Bulk as 1 Bulk. A Tiny creature doesn’t treat any items as having negligible Bulk.

So (imo) negligible and light function the same for Tiny creatures, 10 of them = 1 bulk.

Basically a Tiny longsword, a Tiny dagger, and a Tiny shuriken all count the same for a Tiny creature, 10 of them is 1 bulk.


Ravingdork wrote:
Can a pixie archer carry 100 tiny arrows, and if so, how much of the pixie's bulk capacity does it use up?

10 bulk.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Why dont they just come out and say that negligible and light are the same, rather than "negligible is still negligible, but is treated as light, and light becomes undefined?"

So at what point in the order of operations do you apply the bulk size adjustment to arrows?

Do you say each tiny arrow has negligible bulk and so 10 negligible items = 1 bulk for a pixie?

OR

Since arrow bulk is only counted for sets of 10, a set of 10 tiny arrows is light bulk (1 bulk reduced one step for being tiny)?


Ravingdork wrote:

Why dont they just come out and say that negligible and light are the same, rather than "negligible is still negligible, but is treated as light, and light becomes undefined?"

So at what point in the order of operations do you apply the bulk size adjustment to arrows?

Do you say each tiny arrow has negligible bulk and so 10 negligible items = 1 bulk for a pixie?

OR

Since arrow bulk is only counted for sets of 10, a set of 10 tiny arrows is light bulk (1 bulk reduced one step for being tiny)?

bhecause there are 2 different adjustments made:

1 is the adjustement of the Bulk to the item.

and the second is the adjustment of how to treat said Bulk by a character.

So, you have 2 things going on "Bulk of a different sized item" and "Bulk on a different sized character".

If, as an example, you are a human who found a Tiny dagger, that dogger would be negible Bulk for you.

As a medium sized character, you go to the chart and see that negligilbe is indeed negligible for you.

But if you were a Tiny creature, like the human's familiar, while the item itself would still be the same exact bulk, you would treat it as "10 of those weight 1 bulk".

---

In effect, you have 2 different things going on:

when you say "how many arrows does a sprite carry" it's practically "how many Tiny arrows does a Tiny character carry"

so you have to modify both the weight of the items due to their size change, and the carrying capacity of the character due to their size change.


Ravingdork wrote:

Do you say each tiny arrow has negligible bulk and so 10 negligible items = 1 bulk for a pixie?

OR

Since arrow bulk is only counted for sets of 10, a set of 10 tiny arrows is light bulk (1 bulk reduced one step for being tiny)?

Yes, both are correct. It's like bags of 999 coins are negligible weight so you have 2, it's 2 negligible bulk items but if you put the coins in the same bag, those 1998 coins are 1 bulk. ;)


graystone wrote:
Ravingdork wrote:

Do you say each tiny arrow has negligible bulk and so 10 negligible items = 1 bulk for a pixie?

OR

Since arrow bulk is only counted for sets of 10, a set of 10 tiny arrows is light bulk (1 bulk reduced one step for being tiny)?

Yes, both are correct. It's like bags of 999 coins are negligible weight so you have 2, it's 2 negligible bulk items but if you put the coins in the same bag, those 1998 coins are 1 bulk. ;)

I will now carry coins this way from now on so I can cheese bulk limitations.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Thanks shroudb, that's about as far as I got on my own I think.

graystone wrote:
Yes, both are correct.

What? How is that possible? Now I'm even more confused.

graystone wrote:
It's like bags of 999 coins are negligible weight so you have 2, it's 2 negligible bulk items but if you put the coins in the same bag, those 1998 coins are 1 bulk. ;)

Oh, so you're just being facetious while demonstrating that it's the first one because the logic of the second leads to absurd, nonsensical abuses?

I don't think bulk is counted by how many coins are in a bag, or arrows in a quiver, but by how many are carried by the character. In any case, I'm not asking about when to apply bulk, but when to apply the conversion, as it can lead to very different results, depending whether you treat bundled items as a single object or as several objects for the purposes of bulk.


Ravingdork wrote:
graystone wrote:
Yes, both are correct.

What? How is that possible? Now I'm even more confused.

graystone wrote:
It's like bags of 999 coins are negligible weight so you have 2, it's 2 negligible bulk items but if you put the coins in the same bag, those 1998 coins are 1 bulk. ;)
Oh, so you're just being facetious while demonstrating that it's the first one because the logic of the second leads to absurd, nonsensical abuses?

Facetious? Not at all. I'm pointing out that both are correct and further pointed out that this isn't the first time something like this has happened. How you wish to run it is up to you or your DM as, once again, both answers are correct. Think of it like 2X-1 = 7: there are multiple correct answers, 3 and -3. What we're dealing with is the order of operation altering the end result and the existing rules not stating which order is correct leading to 2 correct answers.

Ravingdork wrote:
I don't think bulk is counted by how many coins are in a bag, or arrows in a quiver, but by how many are carried by the character.

That's one way to do it but it's never stated it's the correct way: So if that's the one that makes sense to you, you can do so and it'll be correct.

PS: as to logic, neither makes a whole lot of sense: take a large creature, like a horse. You can put as many dagger on your horse as you want as they are Negligible. So 10 don't impact the horse at all. Now a bag of 10 daggers is Light, the same bulk as a longsword so everything is good so far. Now take an item that's twice as bulky as that longsword a human, a greatsword: it somehow becomes x10 as bulky for the Large creature [1 bulk] instead. The point is, don't try to logically work out bulk as it's an act of futility. Just shrug your shoulders and go with it. :P


1 person marked this as a favorite.
graystone wrote:
Ravingdork wrote:
graystone wrote:
Yes, both are correct.

What? How is that possible? Now I'm even more confused.

graystone wrote:
It's like bags of 999 coins are negligible weight so you have 2, it's 2 negligible bulk items but if you put the coins in the same bag, those 1998 coins are 1 bulk. ;)
Oh, so you're just being facetious while demonstrating that it's the first one because the logic of the second leads to absurd, nonsensical abuses?

Facetious? Not at all. I'm pointing out that both are correct and further pointed out that this isn't the first time something like this has happened. How you wish to run it is up to you or your DM as, once again, both answers are correct. Think of it like 2X-1 = 7: there are multiple correct answers, 3 and -3. What we're dealing with is the order of operation altering the end result and the existing rules not stating which order is correct leading to 2 correct answers.

Ravingdork wrote:
I don't think bulk is counted by how many coins are in a bag, or arrows in a quiver, but by how many are carried by the character.

That's one way to do it but it's never stated it's the correct way: So if that's the one that makes sense to you, you can do so and it'll be correct.

PS: as to logic, neither makes a whole lot of sense: take a large creature, like a horse. You can put as many dagger on your horse as you want as they are Negligible. So 10 don't impact the horse at all. Now a bag of 10 daggers is Light, the same bulk as a longsword so everything is good so far. Now take an item that's twice as bulky as that longsword a human, a greatsword: it somehow becomes x10 as bulky for the Large creature [1 bulk] instead. The point is, don't try to logically work out bulk as it's an act of futility. Just shrug your shoulders and go with it. :P

That math example doesn't make any sense because 2(3) - 1 = 5, and 2(-3) - 1 = -7, neither match the equation you set out to solve.

That being said, this gets to the heart of the problem, as order of operations matters, and the rules don't tell us which one(s) to use.


I think he want to do something like x²-2=7. Where's 3 and -3 solves.


YuriP wrote:
I think he want to do something like x²-2=7. Where's 3 and -3 solves.

Correct. I'm not sure how it ended up with what was in that post. ;)

Grand Lodge

Ravingdork wrote:
Why dont they just come out and say that negligible and light are the same, rather than "negligible is still negligible, but is treated as light, and light becomes undefined?"

Sometimes the sprite might need to carry items other than their own gear. Sometimes other characters might need to carry the sprite's gear.

It works out approximately the same, but just leaving it at that leaves a lot of unanswered questions.
Sprites using the same Bulk system as everybody else answers them, even if it requires both rules for Tiny gear and rules for a Tiny character's Bulk limit--and neither is terribly complicated, anyway.

graystone wrote:
Yes, both are correct. It's like bags of 999 coins are negligible weight so you have 2, it's 2 negligible bulk items but if you put the coins in the same bag, those 1998 coins are 1 bulk. ;)

Since when is Bulk per container? That's just 1998 coins.


Super Zero wrote:
Since when is Bulk per container?

Since when isn't it? It's as correct as removing items from a container to count bulk.

Super Zero wrote:
That's just 1998 coins.

Sure you can do that... But where does it say that's what you do? Again, the game never tells you what the order of operation is for bulk calculations.

Let me ask you something. If you picked up someone's backpack, would you add together each and every items from the pack and recalculate or would you take the bulk total for the backpack and add it to your equipment bulk? Myself, I'd take the already calculated total and simply add the 2 numbers: That's the reason I wouldn't expect someone to do something different when the containers hold coins.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / If a pixie did pick pokers, how many pokers could a pixie pick? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.