Spirit's Wrath and Handwraps of Mighty Blows


Rules Discussion


After reading the feat multiple times, I'm not really sure if the Handwraps apply to this.

On the one hand they state that it is the Wisp the one that makes the attack, and the feat specifies its own item bonus, so maybe the intention is that it doesn't.

On the other hand, I don't know if the wisp thing is enough to count the attack as one from a different entity, as it is not its own creature.

In case you think they don't apply by RAW, would you find it too umbalanced to houserule it so they apply?


Spirits Wrath

Not sure why you have a question?

There is an item bonus specified as the one that the spirit uses. So clearly your bonus is not allowed as you can't apply two item bonses.

The Wisp is somewhat related to you, but its not your unarmed attack bonus it is using. It gives a specific formula. So there is no oppourtunity for you to bring it in.


For me the more interesting question is - this is an attack but its not your attack, it is your ancestors attack, does it count as a hostile action?


Gortle wrote:
For me the more interesting question is - this is an attack but its not your attack, it is your ancestors attack, does it count as a hostile action?

You are still the one taking the attack action and it adds to your MAP so I would expect that it does tbh.


Thezzaruz wrote:
Gortle wrote:
For me the more interesting question is - this is an attack but its not your attack, it is your ancestors attack, does it count as a hostile action?
You are still the one taking the attack action and it adds to your MAP so I would expect that it does tbh.

Except that the feat explicitly says you are not the one attacking.

Liberty's Edge

Even if you are not the one attacking, it is a hostile action. Like knowingly opening the door for the monster who will rip your opponents to shreds.


Gortle wrote:

Spirits Wrath

Not sure why you have a question?

Because I wanted to make sure. I'm also inclined to think so, but there are certain caveats I can't ignore.

Gortle wrote:
There is an item bonus specified as the one that the spirit uses. So clearly your bonus is not allowed as you can't apply two item bonses.

If you have a +3 weapon and a +2 weapon and doubling rings the +2 gets overwritpten by the +3. Don't see a problem here. I believe the Item bonus was put there exclusively because Spirit Barbs are not supposed to use unarmed attacks, so they don't get punished for taking the feat.

Gortle wrote:
The Wisp is somewhat related to you, but its not your unarmed attack bonus it is using. It gives a specific formula. So there is no oppourtunity for you to bring it in.

The spirit is not 100% you but it originates from one action you take, uses the same proficiency that you use, uses your STR and CON and most importantly, it is also not its own entity, it is not a creature. If it is not you and it is not an external creature, it also cannot benefit from things like Inspire Courage or Bless, which I find very strange.

Henestly I find the text of this feat a little bit wonky when compared to how the rest of the game works.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
roquepo wrote:
Gortle wrote:

Spirits Wrath

Not sure why you have a question?

Because I wanted to make sure. I'm also inclined to think so, but there are certain caveats I can't ignore.

Yes it does have some odd corners

roquepo wrote:


Gortle wrote:
There is an item bonus specified as the one that the spirit uses. So clearly your bonus is not allowed as you can't apply two item bonses.

If you have a +3 weapon and a +2 weapon and doubling rings the +2 gets overwritten by the +3. Don't see a problem here.

No doubling rings just don't apply to it it is another creature , even though it only exists for an instant. It is not you. There is no way you can get a +3 item bonus to apply, you have to use the +2 it explicity tells you too

roquepo wrote:


Gortle wrote:
The Wisp is somewhat related to you, but its not your unarmed attack bonus it is using. It gives a specific formula. So there is no oppourtunity for you to bring it in.
The spirit is not you, but it is also not its own entity, it is not a creature. If it is not you and it is not an external creature, it also cannot benefit from things like Inspire Courage or Bless, which I find very strange.

But it is an external creature, even though it is only in existance for an action . Inspire courage and Bless work providing your Bard/Cleric considers it an ally. Targetted buffs are not going to work though, as you obviously don't have the time to do them, and a buff on you the Barbarian is not relevant.


The Raven Black wrote:
Even if you are not the one attacking, it is a hostile action. Like knowingly opening the door for the monster who will rip your opponents to shreds.

Yes. It is a hostile action. It is an attack. But the barbarian is not making an attack roll, even though MAP still applies as if he was.

They have really driven the long way around this.


Gortle wrote:
roquepo wrote:
Gortle wrote:

Spirits Wrath

Not sure why you have a question?

Because I wanted to make sure. I'm also inclined to think so, but there are certain caveats I can't ignore.

Yes it does have some odd corners

roquepo wrote:


Gortle wrote:
There is an item bonus specified as the one that the spirit uses. So clearly your bonus is not allowed as you can't apply two item bonses.

If you have a +3 weapon and a +2 weapon and doubling rings the +2 gets overwritten by the +3. Don't see a problem here.

No doubling rings just don't apply to it it is another creature , even though it only exists for an instant. It is not you. There is no way you can get a +3 item bonus to apply, you have to use the +2 it explicity tells you too

roquepo wrote:


Gortle wrote:
The Wisp is somewhat related to you, but its not your unarmed attack bonus it is using. It gives a specific formula. So there is no oppourtunity for you to bring it in.
The spirit is not you, but it is also not its own entity, it is not a creature. If it is not you and it is not an external creature, it also cannot benefit from things like Inspire Courage or Bless, which I find very strange.
But it is an external creature, even though it is only in existance for an action . Inspire courage and Bless work providing your Bard/Cleric considers it an ally. Targetted buffs are not going to work though, as you obviously don't have the time to do them, and a buff on you the Barbarian is not relevant.

Just mentioned the doubling rings because you said that you can't have 2 bonuses.

Targeting rules makes the ally/not ally clearly fall into DM ruling territory. A DM can allow it and disallow it as an ally, but it is definitely not its own creature in the same way Spiritual Weapon is not a creature. It has no HP, no stats, can't be targeted (as far as we know), nothing.

Would be cool to get this errata'ed or at least clarified eventually to make the feat less obtuse.


DMs are going to rule it all over the place. Not sure it matters so much. All I'm going on is the provided rule text, were it is clearly decribed as a spirt wisp creature. What happens when a reaction goes off? A riposte could try to hit it, but I think it just dissipates first. A Champion could react to it, but any penalty from that would apply to the spirit wisp and not to the barbarian, so basically nothing. Very small corner cases.

Yes they could clarify this a little. But personally I think it is clear enough.

Liberty's Edge

Gortle wrote:
The Raven Black wrote:
Even if you are not the one attacking, it is a hostile action. Like knowingly opening the door for the monster who will rip your opponents to shreds.

Yes. It is a hostile action. It is an attack. But the barbarian is not making an attack roll, even though MAP still applies as if he was.

They have really driven the long way around this.

Similar to maneuvers for the "MAP applies but not an attack roll thing". No bonus from Inspire Courage then.


Gortle wrote:
They have really driven the long way around this.

I do agree that it suffers from some quite bad writing. It uses a "wisp", which isn't a creature defined in the rules. And it uses a " melee wisp rush unarmed attack", also something not defined in the rules.

That said...

Gortle wrote:
Yes. It is a hostile action. It is an attack. But the barbarian is not making an attack roll, even though MAP still applies as if he was.

The barbarian uses an action with the attack trait and that attack uses his proficiency, his ability mod, his status and circumstance bonus and it contributes to his MAP.

I'd say that it's bloody obvious that it would count as a hostile action by the barbarian.

I could see the barbarian not qualify as the enemy/foe for stuff like "Retributive Strike" or "Blade of Justice" but I wouldn't really disagree with a DM that saw it otherwise.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
The Raven Black wrote:
Gortle wrote:
The Raven Black wrote:
Even if you are not the one attacking, it is a hostile action. Like knowingly opening the door for the monster who will rip your opponents to shreds.

Yes. It is a hostile action. It is an attack. But the barbarian is not making an attack roll, even though MAP still applies as if he was.

They have really driven the long way around this.
Similar to maneuvers for the "MAP applies but not an attack roll thing". No bonus from Inspire Courage then.

errr it specifically will be affected by buffs on your person like Inspire courage:

Quote:
he wisp’s attack modifier is equal to your proficiency bonus for martial weapons plus your Strength modifier plus a +2 item bonus, and it applies the same circumstance and status bonuses and penalties that you have.

on the OP, given that the feat specifically mentions that only circumstance and status bonuses (on you) affect it, i don't think there's any chance that it also is affected by Item bonuses.


Cool. I've missread it a bit. The bit about apply the same bonuses as you.


Thezzaruz wrote:
Gortle wrote:
They have really driven the long way around this.

I do agree that it suffers from some quite bad writing. It uses a "wisp", which isn't a creature defined in the rules. And it uses a " melee wisp rush unarmed attack", also something not defined in the rules.

I did not say it was bad writing.

A wisp is defined in the rules, just there, and with no stats because it doesn't need them as it only exists for an action and not otherwise.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
shroudb wrote:
The Raven Black wrote:
Gortle wrote:
The Raven Black wrote:
Even if you are not the one attacking, it is a hostile action. Like knowingly opening the door for the monster who will rip your opponents to shreds.

Yes. It is a hostile action. It is an attack. But the barbarian is not making an attack roll, even though MAP still applies as if he was.

They have really driven the long way around this.
Similar to maneuvers for the "MAP applies but not an attack roll thing". No bonus from Inspire Courage then.

errr it specifically will be affected by buffs on your person like Inspire courage:

Quote:
he wisp’s attack modifier is equal to your proficiency bonus for martial weapons plus your Strength modifier plus a +2 item bonus, and it applies the same circumstance and status bonuses and penalties that you have.
on the OP, given that the feat specifically mentions that only circumstance and status bonuses (on you) affect it, i don't think there's any chance that it also is affected by Item bonuses.

Thanks, I missed that. That solves many problems.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Spirit's Wrath and Handwraps of Mighty Blows All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Discussion