Paladin lay on of hands question


Rules Questions


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Rulebook Subscriber

One of my players asked about this and looking on the forums, I haven't seen any discussion about his particular question, so figured I ask. He's looking at these two feats.

Channel Surge and Ranged Lay on Hands

Both state that they are full round actions to use, so the question is can you use them both at the same time? On the one hands, one simply increases the cost of the channel, and the other changes it to a ranged touch. In principle, I don't think it's unreasonable to allow it. On the other hand, both are modifying the time for the lay on hands action, and these two feats could be viewed as incompatible with one another.

I will note one oddity. I could not find the ranged lay on hands feat on archive of Nethys. I do see Word of Healing that does something similar without the change to a full round action, but at half the healing.

Any thoughts?


These are seperate full round actions. They both "pay" for bonuses by increasing the action cost, so I would not allow it.

The second feat is from Pathfinder:Niobe a book of rules for adapting a comic setting. AoN has not uploaded content from that source.


A Full-Round Action means you cannot do anything else requiring a standard action or a move action. You can take a 5 foot step and perform free actions, swift actions and immediate actions subject to the normal limits on those types of actions.

That means that means you cannot use both of those feats at the same time. Nor can you use those feats with most other things unless the second thing uses a free, swift or immediate action.

I am not sure here Ranged Lay on Hands came from. Since there is no book or AP listed in the copyright notice I suspect that it is not an official feat.


You could use the spontaneous metamagic rules for this - you can stack them both but it costs 2 full-round actions. I can't think of many times where that's beneficial, but it's something.

(Personally I'd let them stack as a single full-round-action. It's a high feat cost for a fairly weak ability even if they do stack.)


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Like others said, as written, no you can't stack them.

I would allow it though.
Dropping that many feats into LoH might as well get you something fancy and 1d8/2lvls +50% is barely fancy...

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Roleplaying Game: Niobe

A collaboration with the Paizo people, but not exactly a Paizo product.

Liberty's Edge

The paladin already has:

Channel Positive Energy (Su): When a paladin reaches 4th level, she gains the supernatural ability to channel positive energy like a cleric. Using this ability consumes two uses of her lay on hands ability. A paladin uses her level as her effective cleric level when channeling positive energy. This is a Charisma-based ability.

and the class is charisma based.

Wouldn't be more efficient to take:

Selective Channeling
Prerequisites: Cha 13, channel energy class feature.
Benefit: When you channel energy, you can choose a number of targets in the area up to your Charisma modifier. These targets are not affected by your channeled energy.
Normal: All targets in a 30-foot burst are affected when you channel energy. You can only choose whether or not you are affected.

You use 2 lay of hands to get a full effect Channel and you can avoid healing the enemies, all with a standard action.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Rulebook Subscriber

Thanks all for the replies. I, as well, think that by RAW it isn't allowed or if it was allowed, it'd take 2 full rounds. That said, I don't think that it is over powered, and may just house rule it that he can be use both.

And while Channel + Selective Channel does give you a broader ranged heal, it does have the risks of healing invisible or just unnoticed enemies, and you're limited to your charisma modifier for exclusion but in exchange you heal potentially more folks, with a similar range for the same cost as ranged lay on hands as a standard action.

Follow up, if you use channel surge as a paladin on a channel, does the cost go to 4 lay on hands (use two uses of channel) or just an additional lay on hands? Verse a channel surge on a lay of hands for 2.

Liberty's Edge

Agodeshalf wrote:


Follow up, if you use channel surge as a paladin on a channel, does the cost go to 4 lay on hands (use two uses of channel) or just an additional lay on hands? Verse a channel surge on a lay of hands for 2.

If you use Lay of hands+channel surge you use 2 Lay of hands, if you use Channel energy you use 2 Channels, i.e. 4 Lay of hands.

Note that when you get Channel Positive Energy you can take Extra channel and get 4 extra uses of Lay of hands (but only to use Cannel energy).

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Paladin lay on of hands question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions