Tiefling Tail Touch Spells


Rules Questions


With a Tiefling Cleric with a prehensile tail, assuming I have a free hand for somatic components, can I deliver touch spells and domain effects with my tail?

I have a very Rules As Written DM, that insists things be explicitly stated, but I think as stated in the book, a touch should be a touch, and with the fast fine control to retrieve and hold small items, that delivering a touch with a tail should be a given.

Related, can I use a wand in my tail?

Zanna


A touch definitely isn't just a simple touch, else the air touching the appendage that would delivers it would set if off.

Also, the tail probably isn't generally controlled enough (like an arm) to be able to attack someone with.

That said, the free hand you have for somatic components only needs to be free during casting, and once you've cast the spell you can use the same hand to deliver.


So RAW I don't see why you couldn't. I don't know if you could wield a wand because it says in the description of the prehensile tail ability that it can't wield weapons so I don't wands would be allowed.


Honestly, your GM sounds like the kind of person that it it's not explicitly allowed that they wont allow it.

We can make inferences about what a tell might be capable of doing, but since it can only explicit retrieve items it can't do anything else, like make touch attack, without making inferences.


Without wording similar to the Agile Tongue feat available to Grippli, I doubt your GM is going to allow it...


Lilacia wrote:


With a Tiefling Cleric with a prehensile tail, assuming I have a free hand for somatic components, can I deliver touch spells and domain effects with my tail?

I have a very Rules As Written DM, that insists things be explicitly stated, but I think as stated in the book, a touch should be a touch, and with the fast fine control to retrieve and hold small items, that delivering a touch with a tail should be a given.

First of all, a "touch" spell has nothing to do with "touching" something, but is a rule construct regarding the AC of the target; as such, delivering a touch spell isn't limited to your hands: You don't throw your hand at someone on a ranged touch spell either.

However, the rules have 2 different ways of delivering melee touch spells:
During the round, in which a spell is cast, you are free to deliver the touch spell as an "armed unarmed attack", and such unarmed attacks do not require to be a punch with your hand - they can explicitly be a kick, headbutt, ... or whatever.
However, after this round, you are required to "hold the charge" with your hand, and delivering such a spell requires you to use your hand.

Lilacia wrote:
Related, can I use a wand in my tail?

Yes. You only have to hold a wand in order to use it, as opposed to weapons which you have to wield. The Tiefling's prehensile tail is able to retrieve and carry items, which necessitates the ability to hold an item.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Tiefling Tail Touch Spells All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.