Spell Immunity and Dispel Magic


Rules Discussion


Here's a question that came up in my last game.

Character casts Spell Immunity on themselves and selects Dispel Magic as the spell to be warded against.

I'm not sure if this is a valid choice or not. According to dispel magic the target is "1 spell effect or unattended magic item". According the PRD Spell Immunity "attempts to counteract that spell whenever spell immunity's target is the target of the named spell or in that spell's area."

So, the question is: Will Spell Immunity with Dispel Magic as it's warded spell allow a character to make a counteract check against having Dispel Magic cast on their long / short term buffs?

What do you think?


I think it wouldn't work. Dispel magic doesn't target the target of Spell Immunity. Also, this would functionally disable Dispel Magic against Spell Immunity as well, which doesn't feel correct.


They become immune(-ish) to Dispel Magic, but their spells/buffs don't.
By the most basic reading, Dispel Magic could never target the person to trigger the Spell Immunity. So it'd be possible, but useless.

Extended answer:
I don't think PF2 has any examples where this would be of any benefit at all, though in 3.X some creatures could be hurt by Dispel Magic so there are extreme outlier instances where Spell Immunity to Dispel Magic would do something (if those monsters get converted/updated). But nothing for a normal PC, no.
Also, I think you could target a person in previous editions, yet that doesn't change that the PF2 version doesn't.


Nyarlathotep wrote:

Here's a question that came up in my last game.

Character casts Spell Immunity on themselves and selects Dispel Magic as the spell to be warded against.

I'm not sure if this is a valid choice or not. According to dispel magic the target is "1 spell effect or unattended magic item". According the PRD Spell Immunity "attempts to counteract that spell whenever spell immunity's target is the target of the named spell or in that spell's area."

So, the question is: Will Spell Immunity with Dispel Magic as it's warded spell allow a character to make a counteract check against having Dispel Magic cast on their long / short term buffs?

What do you think?

No, as Spell Immunity only wards the creature, not its buffs.

But it can be useful if the creature is a summoned one.


Probably best it doesn't work that way. If it did ... what's stopping an Evil Wizard (or other caster) dropping a DEBUFF on you followed by Spell Immunity to Dispel Magic?

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Spell Immunity and Dispel Magic All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.