Scrolls and Spell Lists


Rules Discussion


For the purposes of using the Cast a Spell activity to cast a spell from a scroll, the rules dictate that the spell must be on the caster’s list.

What exactly constitutes “your list” in this context, and where are the relevant and clarifying rules?

Does the “your list” language mean any wizard can cast any spell from a scroll, so long as it’s on the arcane spell lists? Surely not, as that would throw spell levels right out the window.

Or are there further limitations? As I imagine there’d have to be.

Does “your list” only include spells you would be able to cast yourself (so, only first level spells for my exemplary wizard)? Is it even more granular than that—you can only cast spells in your “repertoire” (a word I find has somewhat slippery usage in the CRB), which might mean first level sorcerers could only cast a couple of spells from scrolls. Obviously that doesn’t seem right.

I also have questions about exactly how scribing scrolls works, the apparent tradition-neutral nature of spells scribed on scrolls, and whether or not you can learn spells from found scrolls (for wizard's that would be transcribing to spell books, I guess) but I’ll save all those for another post. (I think I just about have a handle on scribing/Crafting, though I'm hoping I'm wrong about a couple of things).

Cheers!


As I read it, by RAW a wizard can, in fact, cast any arcane spell from a scroll, regardless of the level of the spell or the wizard. Note that a character would not normally have access to scrolls of spells at a higher level than they can cast anyway. So from a practical standpoint it's not a big deal.

Where it matters a little bit more is for characters taking spellcasting dedications. They would have access to scrolls of their character level, which means they can cast at the full level of their archetype class as long as they are willing to spend the gold to do so. I'm still ok with that, btw. It is a sort of hidden benefit to spellcasting dedications.


Pathfinder PF Special Edition, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Society Subscriber
Alys Kindletrick wrote:

For the purposes of using the Cast a Spell activity to cast a spell from a scroll, the rules dictate that the spell must be on the caster’s list.

What exactly constitutes “your list” in this context, and where are the relevant and clarifying rules?

Does the “your list” language mean any wizard can cast any spell from a scroll, so long as it’s on the arcane spell lists? Surely not, as that would throw spell levels right out the window.

Or are there further limitations? As I imagine there’d have to be.

Quote:

Class features indicate what spell traditions you can cast from. These are your 'list'. For instance Primal Spellcasting of druids indicates that you can cast primal spells using the Cast a Spell activity. If somehow a Druid got a hold of a powerful 9th level Implosion scroll, the DCs of the spell would be the druid's spell DC, not the DC of the scroll creator. This is an important limitation.

And as someone else said the further restrictions are A) Item level and B) Cost. If your GM is giving you scrolls that are five item levels above your current level, well that's not baked into the math of the game. Granted it'd be a one time use item which could be very useful narratively, which is why I think the idea is neat.

Quote:
Does “your list” only include spells you would be able to cast yourself (so, only first level spells for my exemplary wizard)? Is it even more granular than that—you can only cast spells in your “repertoire” (a word I find has somewhat slippery usage in the CRB), which might mean first level sorcerers could only cast a couple of spells from scrolls. Obviously that doesn’t seem right.

You do not have to have appropriate level spell slots to cast from a scroll. They simply have to be on your list.

Quote:
I also have questions about exactly how scribing scrolls works, the apparent tradition-neutral nature of spells scribed on scrolls, and whether or not you can learn spells from found scrolls (for wizard's that would be transcribing to spell books, I guess) but I’ll save all those for another post. (I think I just about have a handle on scribing/Crafting, though I'm hoping I'm wrong about a couple of things).

Scroll crafting is rather straightforward. Scrolls requirement is the casting of the spell from a spell slot in the presence of the crafter. So either the crafter is doing it, or they got someone else to spend the spell slot. If nobody can cast the spell from their own slots then you cannot craft the scroll. And yes, overlapping spell lists allow say a cleric to prepare a 1st level Heal scroll and a Primal caster to cast it.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Maps, Pathfinder Accessories Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Starfinder Superscriber
Exton Land wrote:
Alys Kindletrick wrote:

For the purposes of using the Cast a Spell activity to cast a spell from a scroll, the rules dictate that the spell must be on the caster’s list.

What exactly constitutes “your list” in this context, and where are the relevant and clarifying rules?

Does the “your list” language mean any wizard can cast any spell from a scroll, so long as it’s on the arcane spell lists? Surely not, as that would throw spell levels right out the window.

Or are there further limitations? As I imagine there’d have to be.

Quote:

Class features indicate what spell traditions you can cast from. These are your 'list'. For instance Primal Spellcasting of druids indicates that you can cast primal spells using the Cast a Spell activity. If somehow a Druid got a hold of a powerful 9th level Implosion scroll, the DCs of the spell would be the druid's spell DC, not the DC of the scroll creator. This is an important limitation.

And as someone else said the further restrictions are A) Item level and B) Cost. If your GM is giving you scrolls that are five item levels above your current level, well that's not baked into the math of the game. Granted it'd be a one time use item which could be very useful narratively, which is why I think the idea is neat.

Quote:
Does “your list” only include spells you would be able to cast yourself (so, only first level spells for my exemplary wizard)? Is it even more granular than that—you can only cast spells in your “repertoire” (a word I find has somewhat slippery usage in the CRB), which might mean first level sorcerers could only cast a couple of spells from scrolls. Obviously that doesn’t seem right.

You do not have to have appropriate level spell slots to cast from a scroll. They simply have to be on your list.

Quote:
I also have questions about exactly how scribing scrolls works, the apparent tradition-neutral nature of spells scribed on scrolls, and whether or not you can learn spells from found scrolls
...

The list starts out as your Tradition's list. Things can further adjust this list to include other spells that would be part of YOUR list which might not be on the tradition's spell list. But for you they become spells of your tradition. These things include, Domains, and their Domain spells, Bloodlines, and their Bloodline spells, Witches and their Lessons. This isn't necessarily exhaustive, but it is intended as a quick example to show how there are adjustments to many classes basic traditions spell lists to build their own personal spell list.

Note that I'm fairly certain the DC of any spell cast from the scroll is determined by the caster, not by the creator of the scroll. Meaning, if you cast a high level spell it still has a low level DC. As such higher level utility spells without save or attack rolls would be most useful.

As to where each of these modifications would be found in the Core Rulebook or Advanced Players Guide, it would be in the various class features pages that expand that individual's spell list. As far as I know, it isn't in a specific singular location, as each class has its own way of expanding the spell list they have access to.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Scrolls and Spell Lists All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.