Wildshape and Buckler / Shield


Rules Questions


So if a Druid is using a Shield/Buckler and uses Wildshape to turn into an animal, does he still get the shield bonus?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Turning into an animal the shield will merge into the druid's form like their other equipment, and will only have an effect if the shield has the 'wild' enchantment.


What about their armor? The Wild armor enhancement seems to imply that without it, you wouldn't have your armor/shield bonus when your transform, unless you have this enhancement.

And am I just missing this in the Druid's wildshape ability? it doesn't say anything about losing your armor/shield bonus there, so where is this mentioned?


Never mind, found the rule under the Polymorph school of magic.


You might also want to look at this FAQ about the wild enchant.


An animal--even an odd one--with barding I can wrap my head around. But a bear with a buckler? A turtle with a tower shield? This is a whole new area you've opened up for me.


Quixote wrote:
An animal--even an odd one--with barding I can wrap my head around. But a bear with a buckler? A turtle with a tower shield? This is a whole new area you've opened up for me.

Polymorphed creatures should be subject to the same body slot limitations as familiars/animal companions. Here are the respective rules.

All body types except Piscine, Serpentine, and Verminous have the armor slot and can thus wear barding.

Only Avian, Biped (claws/paws), and Biped (hands) "are able to grasp and carry one object at a time in their paws, claws, or hands", but since shields need a forearm in addition to a hand, that rules out avians and probably some bipeds with feathers on their arms.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Wildshape and Buckler / Shield All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.