Unchained Monk - Bare-Hand Block


Rules Questions


Does using the Bare-Hand Block Ki Power provoke attacks of opportunity if the Unchained Monk does not have Improved Sunder, or a similar ability? Would it provoke from other creatures, but not the creature attacking the monk?


"Unless otherwise noted, performing a combat maneuver provokes an attack of opportunity from the target of the maneuver." CRB pg. 199

Since the ability doesn't state otherwise, the sunder attempt would provoke from the target (and only the target).


As written from what I see, you would provoke including from the creature whos weapon you are attempting to sunder, unless you take the improved sunder feat.


Claxon wrote:
As written from what I see, you would provoke including from the creature whos weapon you are attempting to sunder, unless you take the improved sunder feat.

Just to clarify since that was slightly confusingly worded: You only ever provoke AoOs from the target of your combat maneuver, not from everyone who threatens you.

Performing a Combat Maneuver: When performing a combat maneuver, you must use an action appropriate to the maneuver you are attempting to perform. While many combat maneuvers can be performed as part of an attack action, full-attack action, or attack of opportunity (in place of a melee attack), others require a specific action. Unless otherwise noted, performing a combat maneuver provokes an attack of opportunity from the target of the maneuver. If you are hit by the target, you take the damage normally and apply that amount as a penalty to the attack roll to perform the maneuver. If your target is immobilized, unconscious, or otherwise incapacitated, your maneuver automatically succeeds (treat as if you rolled a natural 20 on the attack roll). If your target is stunned, you receive a +4 bonus on your attack roll to perform a combat maneuver against it.


Still, why would you pick up that ability if you weren't dropping feats into sunder? Missing out on the various bonuses you can get would suck.


Well I guess since you'd also have ki Sunder (adding at least +8 to the damage of the sunder attempt) you might not feel you need to put any more resources into this option. If this power meant you didn't provoke from the sunder attempt it'd be pretty great as is.

Since it DOES provoke, and since any damage done by that AoO becomes a penalty to your Sunder check this becomes a power that's only good on sunder builds (who at least have Improved sunder), rather than something anyone can use.


MrCharisma wrote:
Claxon wrote:
As written from what I see, you would provoke including from the creature whos weapon you are attempting to sunder, unless you take the improved sunder feat.

Just to clarify since that was slightly confusingly worded: You only ever provoke AoOs from the target of your combat maneuver, not from everyone who threatens you.

Performing a Combat Maneuver: When performing a combat maneuver, you must use an action appropriate to the maneuver you are attempting to perform. While many combat maneuvers can be performed as part of an attack action, full-attack action, or attack of opportunity (in place of a melee attack), others require a specific action. Unless otherwise noted, performing a combat maneuver provokes an attack of opportunity from the target of the maneuver. If you are hit by the target, you take the damage normally and apply that amount as a penalty to the attack roll to perform the maneuver. If your target is immobilized, unconscious, or otherwise incapacitated, your maneuver automatically succeeds (treat as if you rolled a natural 20 on the attack roll). If your target is stunned, you receive a +4 bonus on your attack roll to perform a combat maneuver against it.

Honestly, for some reason I was thinking combat maneuvers (without the improved feat) provoked from everyone.

Thanks for the correction.


I was also mistaken. I am glad that got cleared up. Who would have thought to look in the rulebook?


MrCharisma wrote:
Well I guess since you'd also have ki Sunder (adding at least +8 to the damage of the sunder attempt) you might not feel you need to put any more resources into this option.

You still need to land the maneuver first, not a given on a class without any attack roll bonuses.

Although I wouldn't be surprised if the writer of BHB mistakingly assumed that Improved Sunder was on the Monk's Bonus Feat list.

VoodistMonk wrote:
Who would have thought to look in the rulebook?

People should just start trusting my quotes! ^^


Derklord wrote:
VoodistMonk wrote:
Who would have thought to look in the rulebook?
People should just start trusting my quotes! ^^

I think it's more that they didn't read it properly.

While we're clarifying here's another tip for anyone who didn't read this properly:

Performing a Combat Maneuver: When performing a combat maneuver, you must use an action appropriate to the maneuver you are attempting to perform. While many combat maneuvers can be performed as part of an attack action, full-attack action, or attack of opportunity (in place of a melee attack), others require a specific action. Unless otherwise noted, performing a combat maneuver provokes an attack of opportunity from the target of the maneuver. If you are hit by the target, you take the damage normally and apply that amount as a penalty to the attack roll to perform the maneuver. If your target is immobilized, unconscious, or otherwise incapacitated, your maneuver automatically succeeds (treat as if you rolled a natural 20 on the attack roll). If your target is stunned, you receive a +4 bonus on your attack roll to perform a combat maneuver against it.

So avoiding that AoO is pretty important.


Yeah, I did remember that taking damage from an AoO while attempting a maneuver caused a penalty to the maneuver, which means you're pretty unlikely to succeed on a maneuver if you provoke. Unfortunately AC just doesn't provide good defense against an AoO because it's made at highest BAB and doesn't suffer the normal penalties you might take for TWF or iterative attacks. People rarely miss of their first attack in a round.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Unchained Monk - Bare-Hand Block All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions