Can a paralyzed creature use innate spells?


Rules Discussion


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Can a paralyzed creature use innate spells?


Quote:
You have the flat-footed condition and can’t act except to Recall Knowledge and use actions that require only the use of your mind (as determined by the GM).

So if the GM determines a certain spell only requires the use of the creature's mind, yes. Otherwise, no.


4 people marked this as a favorite.
Ravingdork wrote:
Can a paralyzed creature use innate spells?

I see nothing under innate spells that removes the spell’s components, so the answer is the same for the innate spell as it is for the normal spell.


graystone wrote:
Ravingdork wrote:
Can a paralyzed creature use innate spells?
I see nothing under innate spells that removes the spell’s components, so the answer is the same for the innate spell as it is for the normal spell.

This seems to be the case. Innate spells changing to act more or less entirely like trained spells seems to be more or less intentional. Less 'concentrates on magic powers' and more 'casts a spell it happens to know innately'.


Yeah, innate spells aren't like Spell Like Abilities form the previous edition, they're now spells that monster just happen to know how to cast without any formal training, innately you might say.


Claxon wrote:
Yeah, innate spells aren't like Spell Like Abilities form the previous edition, they're now spells that monster just happen to know how to cast without any formal training, innately you might say.

Yeah, this is particularly amusing when you look at creatures with no hands/arms that have casting with spell components that require those hands... Somehow a Quetz Couatl needs hands for a focus, a material component and somatics [plane shift alone requires all 3].

Horizon Hunters

They can likely replace Material components with Somatic, and can use other parts of their bodies for those like their wings or tail. Just imagine the Quetz Couatl moving their tail in a strange manner while casting their spells, and if they're on the floor they're probably using their wings.


Cordell Kintner wrote:
They can likely replace Material components with Somatic, and can use other parts of their bodies for those like their wings or tail. Just imagine the Quetz Couatl moving their tail in a strange manner while casting their spells, and if they're on the floor they're probably using their wings.

Can they swap out a focus? While substitutions would make sense, they are not actually implemented. Naga have a similar issue where the creators of them seemed to ignore components for monsters. It's as if they treat monster spells as in they where PF1 SLA's.

Horizon Hunters

Oh, the new Errata just came out today and they added this line:

"Any character casting an innate spell can replace any material component with a somatic component"

Not sure about focuses. Possibly the same change tbh.


Cordell Kintner wrote:

Oh, the new Errata just came out today and they added this line:

"Any character casting an innate spell can replace any material component with a somatic component"

Not sure about focuses. Possibly the same change tbh.

Good catch, I missed that on my skim of it [the colors on that page are NOT color blind friendly :P]. I'd have to disagree on Focus components as they are listed separately and have different rules: maybe the errata needs an errata. ;)

PS: isn't that in the 1st errata section? Did that add new stuff in both sections?

Horizon Hunters

Yes, they did add new stuff to both sections. Makes no sense to separate them if they're going to add to both of them anyway.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Can a paralyzed creature use innate spells? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Discussion