Does a successful AOO stop the action which triggered it?


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

If I provoke an attack of opportunity by performing an action different from movement, such as a combat maneuvre or a ranged attack, and the AOO hits, am I able to finish my action after having being hitted, or is my action wasted?

RAW answers if possible, thank you and sorry for my English


3 people marked this as a favorite.

An enemy taking an Attack of Opportunity against you does not usually prevent you from finishing your action.
From HERE:
If an attack of opportunity is provoked, immediately resolve the attack of opportunity, then continue with the next character’s turn (or complete the current turn, if the attack of opportunity was provoked in the midst of a character’s turn).

(Unless, of course, the AoO somehow makes it so that you CAN'T complete your turn. EG: You drop below 0 hit points.)

Worth noting that if you're trying to do a Combat Maneuver and you're hit with an AoO you take a negative to your roll to equal to the damage you take.
From HERE:
If you are hit by the target, you take the damage normally and apply that amount as a penalty to the attack roll to perform the maneuver.


Warped Savant wrote:

An enemy taking an Attack of Opportunity against you does not usually prevent you from finishing your action.

From HERE:
If an attack of opportunity is provoked, immediately resolve the attack of opportunity, then continue with the next character’s turn (or complete the current turn, if the attack of opportunity was provoked in the midst of a character’s turn).

(Unless, of course, the AoO somehow makes it so that you CAN'T complete your turn. EG: You drop below 0 hit points.)

Worth noting that if you're trying to do a Combat Maneuver and you're hit with an AoO you take a negative to your roll to equal to the damage you take.
From HERE:
If you are hit by the target, you take the damage normally and apply that amount as a penalty to the attack roll to perform the maneuver.

Thank you


ReGaXV wrote:
AOO hits, am I able to finish my action after having being hitted, or is my action wasted?

It doesn't automatically. It does sometimes. Consider the Concentration Check.

ReGaXV wrote:
opportunity by performing an action different from movement, such as a combat maneuvre

Specifically, when it comes to Combat Maneuvers,

Combat Maneuvers wrote:
If you are hit by the target, you take the damage normally and apply that amount as a penalty to the attack roll to perform the maneuver.


I was about to say, also spells require a concentration check if injured while casting, such as from an AoO or a spell with a long cast time (1 turn or longer).

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Does a successful AOO stop the action which triggered it? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions