Reaction order


Rules Discussion


Say I act first and I use Courageous Advance on the Fighter, he strides and then I finish with my turn with another action. Next it's his turn, since it's the start of his turn does his Reaction refresh to begin his turn now or is he all out until his next turn?


Actions refresh at the start of your turn.

more specifically it's always the last step of "starting your turn Step"


That's epic, so basically he could have two reactions in the same round.


Although the rules say

"Once your first turn begins, you gain your actions and reaction. You can use 1 reaction per round."


One thing to note is that I don't believe you have any reactions before your first turn. So if you are starting the combat, the fighter won't have a reaction to stride.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Although the rules say

"Your reactions let you respond immediately to what’s happening around you. The GM determines whether you can use reactions before your first turn begins, depending on the situation in which the encounter happens."


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

Yes, "you don't have reactions before your first turn" isn't accurate, but "you don't always have reactions before your first turn" is. At some tables even "you usually don't have reactions before your first turn" could be true, but that's not something you can say without knowing the GM in question.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

I think from a player perspective you should default to:
"You don't (usually) have reactions before your first turn, but your GM might allow it".

Horizon Hunters

Certain things are fine, like if you were Defending, you could Shield Block before your first turn. Some creatures have reactions that are more automatic abilities, like the Crawling Hand's pus burst that could be used before its first round.

But if for example you were caught in an ambush you wouldn't be able to make an Attack of Opportunity, or most other reactions before your first round.


The defending example is something explicitly outlined by the Defend exploration activity.

So you could benefit from a Raised shield, but I don't think you're entitled to benefit from Shield Block. Although a generous GM might allow it.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Reaction order All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Discussion