Sorcerer casting


Rules Discussion


Can anyone confirm if you can cast lower level spells using a higher level spell slot? I.E, using a 3rd level spell slot to cast a 2nd level spell?


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber
RagingBarb wrote:
Can anyone confirm if you can cast lower level spells using a higher level spell slot? I.E, using a 3rd level spell slot to cast a 2nd level spell?

If you can Heighten it by using a feature like Signature Spells, then yes.

So far as I know, you can't cast a 2nd level spell from a 3rd level slot, if you don't have the ability to Heigten it.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

No. The example on page 299 of the CRB makes that clear: "For example, if you added fireball to your repertoire as a 3rd-level spell and again as a 5th-level spell, you could cast it as a 3rd-level or a 5th-level spell; however, you couldn’t cast it as a 4th-level spell".

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Sorcerer casting All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.