Spell: Magic Weapon | Heightened?


Rules Discussion


I am correct to assume the spell Magic Weapon (Core p. 349) cannot be heightened?

In general, spells that can be heightened will have some accompanying text about the heightened effects. Magic Weapon has no such verbiage, but I'm double-checking. Hero Lab Online permits me to heighten this spell, but I have the feeling this is not correct.


Pathfinder Maps, Pathfinder Accessories, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

All spells can be heightened. However they only have different effects if its listed explicitly in the spell description.

The only reason for heightening a spell that doesn't have a heighten effect is to increase the effective level for the purpose of counterspell/dispelling the effect.


So in the case of Magic Weapon, there's no benefit to heightening this spell?


There is a benefit but very situational. If someone tries to dispel it, as stated above.


I see. Some form of anti-magic could render the weapon "normal", and heightening the spell would only bump its level, but not enhance its damage or attack roll.


Tavaro Evanis wrote:
I see. Some form of anti-magic could render the weapon "normal", and heightening the spell would only bump its level, but not enhance its damage or attack roll.

If someone tried to counteract your casting of the spell, or tried to call Dispel Magic on the weapon after you'd already cast it, that's when its level comes into play.

Verdant Wheel

Tavaro Evanis wrote:
I see. Some form of anti-magic could render the weapon "normal", and heightening the spell would only bump its level, but not enhance its damage or attack roll.

Correct.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Spell: Magic Weapon | Heightened? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.