Fly-By-Attacks, AOO & Readied actions


Rules Questions


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

My group is currently fighting a pack of perytons which have flyby attack. If a peryton attacks a member of the party using its flyby attack that is surrounded by his allies, do the allies get an AOO and then can use a readied attack?


Fly-by attack is not spring attack. AoO's still work. If the allies have readied actions those work too.


This is another example of differences between PC feats and monster feats, notice the way it is worded:

Flyby Attack wrote:

This creature can make an attack before and after it moves while flying.

Prerequisite: Fly speed.

Benefit: When flying, the creature can take a move action and another standard action at any point during the move. The creature cannot take a second move action during a round when it makes a flyby attack.

Normal: Without this feat, the creature takes a standard action either before or after its move.

It is not a charge action, so standard rules apply for AOOs and readied attacks. Notice it says extra standard action when it moves (as long as there is not a second move action). So, any creature with this feat can use a standard action, then a move action with a bonus standard action during the move.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

I have never used Flyby Attack with an extra action. I don't think that's actually how the feat works.

A move action is a type of standard action, so when it says another standard action at any point during the move, it's talking about the standard action you have left AFTER spending an action on your movement.

I could be wrong, but given that you have to have a feat to Hover or barrel-roll (Wingover), I very seriously doubt the single feat Flyby Attack is giving out free standard actions.

Dragons have to take a separate feat just to hold someone in their mouth and deny that person a Reflex save for their breath weapon... a feat, to make a target you are already holding in your mouth, not get a Reflex save for the breath weapon coming out of your mouth.

No. Flyby Attack does not grant Legendary Actions outside of the normal action economy. It simply splits a single move to allow your normal standard action to take place during the movement.

Scarab Sages

2 people marked this as a favorite.
Jason Bulmahn wrote:


Flyby attack is supposed to allow you to take a standard action at any point during a move action. That is all. No extra standard.

We will sweep it up in the FAQ

LINK

Of course, like so many things promised to be put in the FAQ, I don’t think it ever made it there. So people will argue based on that. But the intent is clear from his post from 2012.

Liberty's Edge

Ferious Thune wrote:
Jason Bulmahn wrote:


Flyby attack is supposed to allow you to take a standard action at any point during a move action. That is all. No extra standard.

We will sweep it up in the FAQ

LINK

Of course, like so many things promised to be put in the FAQ, I don’t think it ever made it there. So people will argue based on that. But the intent is clear from his post from 2012.

Pewh. (exhale)

I was questioning how I had always used it (i.e. giving the ability to take your standard action at any point during your movement, no extra actions).

Thanks.


A good think to keep in mind is that some flying creatures have reach that will beat even a PC with a Reach Weapon, meaning that Great Wyrm dragon with 30ft of bite reach can flyby and not have to worry about AoO or even readied attacks because he doesn't need to get that close.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Fly-By-Attacks, AOO & Readied actions All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions