Gutbite Belt, How does it work?


Rules Questions


So, I was looking at the Gutbite Belt today and I'm trying to understand how it works.

It states that it does damage as armor spikes whenever you gain the grappled condition. To be clear I'm looking at getting one of these made for my Cavalier/Hunter's animal companion which is a large riding constrictor. I assume that this item will trigger every time the constrictor succeeds at it's initial grapple attempt triggered via Grab(Bite) and that it will not trigger whenever the constrictor makes a grapple check to maintain. The item will also trigger if for some reason something tries to grapple my snake and succeeds.

So, here's my question. When it triggers what happens?

Is an attack roll required or does it just deal automatic damage?
When it comes to Damage what is the damage? I assume it's 1d8 since the snake is a large creature. But is it just 1d8 or is it 1d8+str?

Assuming that the snake has the appropriate tricks to do so, could it attack with the belt using it as actual armor spikes? would such an attack have the grab ability tied to it? (it counts as the wearer's mouth) Would armor spikes even do anything for the snake?

Armor Spikes wrote:
Armor spikes deal extra piercing damage (see “spiked armor” on Table: Weapons) on a successful grapple attack.

I remember doing research on them before and wasn't able to come to a clear understanding how they interact with grapple checks. Given that the snake has a strength of 26 getting to add str vs not is non-trivial to say the least.

Additionally, if I wanted to enchant it as a magic weapon (something that is explicitly stated as a thing that can be done) how would that work? would I have to pay to make it masterwork or is it already considered to be masterwork?


It does damage, no attack roll required. Since it says it does damage as armor spikes, I'd assume 1d8+str.

There's no indication in the item that it could be used as armor spikes otherwise.

While it's unclear, I'd assume that since it says it can be enhanced it can be enhanced. No need to find someone with masterwork transformation.


avr wrote:

It does damage, no attack roll required. Since it says it does damage as armor spikes, I'd assume 1d8+str.

There's no indication in the item that it could be used as armor spikes otherwise.

While it's unclear, I'd assume that since it says it can be enhanced it can be enhanced. No need to find someone with masterwork transformation.

That makes sense. With no attack roll involved it means some weapon enchantments wont even do anything (eg keen) and others are questionable at best (eg training). At 1d8+str it definitely seems worthwhile for the application I'm looking at.

Because this item mentioned armor spikes, it got me thinking about them again and how they interact with grapple.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

LordKailas wrote:
That makes sense. With no attack roll involved it means some weapon enchantments wont even do anything (eg keen) and others are questionable at best (eg training).

It doesn't seem to me to require an attack roll. It just deals damage. You wouldn't want to add Keen to this weapon. You'd want more like +1 flaming.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Gutbite Belt, How does it work? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.