Magus Combat Maneuver Arcana - Do I have to have Combat Expertise?


Rules Questions


I've done searches for this and didn't come up with a viable answer so I'm writing this. My magus took Combat Maneuver (Trip) Arcana. Does he have to have Combat Expertise to get it?

Does he provoke when he tries to trip?

Thanks

Shoga


I definitely can't find what you are talking about. Links would be appreciated. Or more specifics. The statement "Combat Maneuver (Trip) Arcana" doesn't help me find anything. I can't find a Magus Arcana that gives trip, nor one that gifts a combat maneuver, nor one that gives a combat feat related to trip.

The best I can find is Maneuver Mastery, which lets you select a single combat maneuver (Such as trip) and use your magus level as your BaB for that maneuver. However this feat doesn't give you any bonus feat that requires combat expertise to get and doesn't give you any other bonus.


Sorry, that would be it. My bad. Maneuver Mastery. So if I use it, does it provoke?

Thanks


The rules for the arcana make no mention of AoO, so it does not alter whether or not you prokoke. So if you have improved trip (or something similiar) then you do not provoke, otherwise you do.


There is also a feat named dirty fighting that can replace combat expertise for combat maneuver feats. It’s still a prerequisite feat, but it’s a generally better feat.


Magus is a 3/4 BAB class. Maneuver Mastery Arcana only lets you use your Magus level as your BAB to execute the maneuver... not pick up the feats associated with the maneuver.

That means that the soonest you can get Great Trip is level 8, at which point Trip is starting to become useless. All those feats wasted on something that barely works anymore...

It's obviously a trap.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Magus Combat Maneuver Arcana - Do I have to have Combat Expertise? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.