Counterspell Range


Rules Discussion


Hi. I have a question! Is there any range for the counter spell?

Example. I am a divine sorcerer with Counterspell and I have Heal spell.

An enemy over 30ft casts Heal on another enemy.

Can I, let's say at 60ft from the Caster counter it If I have clear line of sight and all?

Or should I be on the 30ft?


The info you need is right in the feat description:

"When a foe Casts a Spell you know and you can see its manifestations"

Thus the range of counterspell is whatever your range of vision is.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Counteracting
Source Core Rulebook pg. 305 1.1
Some spells, such as dispel magic, can be used to eliminate the effects of other spells. At least one creature, object, or manifestation of the spell you are trying to counteract must be within range of the spell that you are using. You attempt a counteract check using your spellcasting ability modifier and your proficiency bonus for spell attack rolls.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
mrspaghetti wrote:

Counteracting

Source Core Rulebook pg. 305 1.1
Some spells, such as dispel magic, can be used to eliminate the effects of other spells. At least one creature, object, or manifestation of the spell you are trying to counteract must be within range of the spell that you are using. You attempt a counteract check using your spellcasting ability modifier and your proficiency bonus for spell attack rolls.

It doesn't apply in the case of Counterspell as you don't cast the spell. Thenobledrake is right when he says the range is vision.


Yeah, there's two differing situations here.

In one situation you're countering a spell as it's being cast and the range is however far you can see.

In the second situation you're countering an effect already in-progress and that is why the ranger of whatever spell you're using to do it comes into question.


thenobledrake wrote:

Yeah, there's two differing situations here.

In one situation you're countering a spell as it's being cast and the range is however far you can see.

In the second situation you're countering an effect already in-progress and that is why the ranger of whatever spell you're using to do it comes into question.

I'm actually glad to hear that. If the range were limited by the range of the spell you were trying to counteract then the Counterspell feat would be much less useful.


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber

So, can you use Counterspell to counter a spell that you observe whilst scrying?


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

That is some deep thread necromancy, reviving a thread from 2020. But the answer is no. There's no reason that Counterspell wouldn't require Line of Effect, like everything does by default.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Counterspell Range All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.