Snagging Strike


Rules Discussion


Can you combine a Snagging Strike with a FoB? Or does Snagging Strike only work with a single strike?


Snagging Strike is its own activity that contains a strike. So is Flurry of Blows. You could use them both on the same turn, but they're otherwise incompatible.

Liberty's Edge

Snagging Strike, CRB pg. 145 wrote:

Requirements: You have one hand free, and your target is within reach of that hand.

You combine an attack with quick grappling moves to throw an enemy off balance as long as it stays in your reach. Make a Strike while keeping one hand free. If this Strike hits, the target is flat-footed until the start of your next turn or until it’s no longer within the reach of your hand, whichever comes first.
Flurry of Blows, CRB pg. 156 wrote:
Make two unarmed Strikes. If both hit the same creature, combine their damage for the purpose of resistances and weaknesses. Apply your multiple attack penalty to the Strikes normally. As it has the flourish trait, you can use Flurry of Blows only once per turn.

I don't see these as incompatible. Snagging Strike says to make a Strike. FoB says make a Strike. The only requirement is to have a hand free, which is not a requirement of FoB. So if someone was using FoB hand and had a free hand, I don't see any reason why they couldn't make an unarmed Strike using Snagging Strike.


Gary Bush wrote:
So if someone was using FoB hand and had a free hand, I don't see any reason why they couldn't make an unarmed Strike using Snagging Strike.

The problem isn't the requirements to use them. The problem is that they're both independent actions.

Flurry of Blows is a single action that lets you make two strikes. Snagging Strike is a single action that lets you make one strike with a rider.

You can't make a snagging strike as part of your flurry because all Flurry does is let you perform the Strike action twice.

Liberty's Edge

Squiggit wrote:

The problem isn't the requirements to use them. The problem is that they're both independent actions.

Flurry of Blows is a single action that lets you make two strikes. Snagging Strike is a single action that lets you make one strike with a rider.

By way of contrast, look at Brutish Shove and Powerful Shove.

Brutish Shove provides you with an action. Powerful Shove provides you with an effect that triggers when you take certain actions.


To try and help Squiggit's message be understood:

It's not the text of Snagging Strike and Flurry of Blows that states their incompatibility, it's the little-diamond-in-a-bigger-diamond icon next to their names that states their incompatibility.

And you can get more information about that on page 17 of the Core Rule Book.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Snagging Strike All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Discussion