Interact action


Rules Discussion


Can wild shape druids (animal form let's say) use interact actions?


Atalius wrote:
Can wild shape druids (animal form let's say) use interact actions?

"If you take on a battle form with a polymorph spell, the special statistics can be adjusted only by circumstance bonuses, status bonuses, and penalties. Unless otherwise noted, the battle form prevents you from casting spells, speaking, and using most manipulate actions that require hands."

"Interact
Manipulate
Source Core Rulebook pg. 470
You use your hand or hands to manipulate an object or the terrain."

So it doesn't look like it, as interact is a manipulation using your hands: your only hope is to beg your DM that the action you're trying to do isn't covered in the "most" part.


Atalius wrote:
Can wild shape druids (animal form let's say) use interact actions?

"If you take on a battle form with a polymorph spell, the special statistics can be adjusted only by circumstance bonuses, status bonuses, and penalties. Unless otherwise noted, the battle form prevents you from casting spells, speaking, and using most manipulate actions that require hands."

"Interact
Manipulate
Source Core Rulebook pg. 470
You use your hand or hands to manipulate an object or the terrain."

So it doesn't look like it, as interact is a manipulation using your hands: your only hope is to beg your DM that the action you're trying to do isn't covered in the "most" part.


Mostly no, but also mostly GM decision as quoted by @graystone, probably depending a lot on your actual form and the manipulate action at hand (pun intended).

Going ape (which even lists fist as primary attack) might yield better results on most manipulate actions than e.g. going for bull or snake.


Ubertron_X wrote:

Mostly no, but also mostly GM decision as quoted by @graystone, probably depending a lot on your actual form and the manipulate action at hand (pun intended).

Going ape (which even lists fist as primary attack) might yield better results on most manipulate actions than e.g. going for bull or snake.

Yeah, it'd depend on the action: a wolf might be able to use it's mouth to open a latch but is unlikely to be able to repair a shield.


Quite a few animals have opposable thumbs.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Interact action All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.