teleport in legendary item (mythic)


Rules Questions


Ok, I have a mythic character with a legendary item, an intelligent sword, with spell casting and teleport. That teleport says this:
Teleport: Once per day, the item can teleport as the spell. It must have either the spellcasting ability or the fly ability to have this ability.

Does it mean that the item casts teleport as a caster, choosing also to teleport additional allies, as the normal rules of the spell? I took that ability to, you know, in case my weapon is lost I can recover it. But reading the spell teleport I realized that I can use it to teleport the sword, me, and maybe one or two extra allies. And we are, in the game we are doing right now, in a critical moment in which I may need to teleport quickly to another part of the city, so...

Liberty's Edge

I would say that it work as the spell, with the caster level being the CL of the item.
The major drawback is the caster is the sword so it can teleport the sword and 1 creature every 3 full caster levels instead of one creature (the caster) +1 every 3 caster levels.


Diego Rossi wrote:

I would say that it work as the spell, with the caster level being the CL of the item.

The major drawback is the caster is the sword so it can teleport the sword and 1 creature every 3 full caster levels instead of one creature (the caster) +1 every 3 caster levels.

Even if the sword is the first target of the spell, is much better than I thought. I just took that ability to recover the sword when lost. Now I can use it to teleport part of the party if needed.


What would the caster level of the teleport be? Legendary Items don't exactly have an item caster level. Teleport has to have one to function at all, but it's not specified as far as I can tell. Is it twice the tier like the spellcasting ability prerequisite?


Melkiador wrote:
What would the caster level of the teleport be? Legendary Items don't exactly have an item caster level. Teleport has to have one to function at all, but it's not specified as far as I can tell. Is it twice the tier like the spellcasting ability prerequisite?

I guess...


Mister F wrote:
I took that ability to, you know, in case my weapon is lost I can recover it.

The Returning ability will do that.


Foeclan wrote:
Mister F wrote:
I took that ability to, you know, in case my weapon is lost I can recover it.
The Returning ability will do that.

but that is only for major artefacts, so, tier 6,


Mister F wrote:
Foeclan wrote:
Mister F wrote:
I took that ability to, you know, in case my weapon is lost I can recover it.
The Returning ability will do that.
but that is only for major artefacts, so, tier 6,

Only the second time, for having it be recoverable from other planes.

Returning wrote:
Returning: The creature bonded to this item can expend one use of mythic power to teleport the item to her waiting hand, as if using teleport object. The item must be on the same plane as the bonded creature for this ability to function. This ability can be taken a second time, allowing the item to cross planes to return to the bonded creature. The item must be a major artifact to take this ability again.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / teleport in legendary item (mythic) All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions