
Ish |
Hi all,
Maybe I'm missing something and I'm terribly wrong, but I can't figure out how Bond Conservation (wizard 8th level feat) is not an errata. As written, it would not only allow universalist wizards to use it 8 times at level 20, but each time, chain it for a total of 20? uses.
And meanwhile you have a 14th level feat that just do the same, without the next turn limitation, but just once a day.
I'm starting my first 2e campaign this week, and one of my players is an universalist wizard, and have pointed this out for me.
By the way, I'll appreciate if someone can point me the 2e errata pdf, I've only found the first edition ones. EDIT: Nevermind, I found it

Aratorin |

So, assuming optimal conditions, where you can stand still for 5 turns, you could use it to cast a 10th Level Spell that you've already Cast, then next turn an 8th Level Spell that you've already Cast, next turn 6th Level, then 4th Level, then 2nd Level.
So, that's a 4 use chain maximum, for which you would need to be standing still, and doing nothing else. I'm not sure where you are getting a 20 use chain.

JackieLane |

I'll admit for a Universalist wizard, this does seem better overall than Superior Bond, since it gives so many potential extra spells. For other wizards, I think I'd rather be able to recall spells in different encounters than have to do both Drains consecutively.
As for the very high numbers, since the Universalist wizard can already use Drain bonded item once per spell level instead of once per day, yes, they are theoretically possible, but that is assuming you have already used relevant spells of every level and are allowed to stand in place during five consecutive turns just casting one or two action spells of decreasing levels that don't require you to sustain. Very often, the order you may want to cast spells, the need for a sustain spell, the irrelevance of low-level spells in later rounds of combat or simply the need to get out of the way of a threat will prevent you from doing that.

![]() |

Hi all,
Maybe I'm missing something and I'm terribly wrong, but I can't figure out how Bond Conservation (wizard 8th level feat) is not an errata. As written, it would not only allow universalist wizards to use it 8 times at level 20, but each time, chain it for a total of 20? uses.
And meanwhile you have a 14th level feat that just do the same, without the next turn limitation, but just once a day.
I'm starting my first 2e campaign this week, and one of my players is an universalist wizard, and have pointed this out for me.
By the way, I'll appreciate if someone can point me the 2e errata pdf, I've only found the first edition ones. EDIT: Nevermind, I found it
Hey Ish, you can read a bit of a more in-depth break down of how it all works here.
You're player is correct in how it works, and it can be an extremely strong "on paper" build, however its unlikely to ever get up to full speed in an actual session.
Since you are the GM, it will be up to you to decide how you want to handle encounters. Just remember that, while strong, and you might have the urge to punish a player for a strong build, its important to also let players shine every so often as well. Just mix up your encounter designs, let different players and their builds excel at different points, and everyone will be happy!
As a side note, I can't it being touched by an errata for the time being. Its not precisely game-warping and isn't ambiguous in anyway, its just something a particular Wizard build can do.

Ish |
Ish wrote:Hi all,
Hey Ish, you can read a bit of a more in-depth break down of how it all works here.
You're player is correct in how it works, and it can be an extremely strong "on paper" build, however its unlikely to ever get up to full speed in an actual session.
As a side note, I can't it being touched by an errata for the time being. Its not precisely game-warping and isn't ambiguous in anyway, its just something a particular Wizard build can do.
First, let me tell you that your guide is great, and I'm going to send the link to my player right now.
I see is quite situational, and seeing your numbers, in any case the will not be a significant difference in spell slots vs an specialist wizard, so I'm inclined to play it by the book, but I'm still convinced that it must be a mistake, as Superior bond in quite inferior, despite of it's name.
Maybe for balance, I'd rule that the wizard won't be allowed to say a single word during the whole cascade casting, as is fully focused in the casting, or that attacks could disrupt the chain. I still have 8 levels for thinking about it.

Aratorin |

Aratorin wrote:I'm not sure where you are getting a 20 use chain.Not a 20 use chain, 20 uses total including chains. "chain it for a total of 20? uses."
3>1
4>2
5>3>1
6>4>2
7>5>3>1
8>6>4>2
9>7>5>3>1
10>8>6>4>28 uses, 20 spell casts
Oh. Well in that case, you can actually do it 24 times, as Superior Bond adds a second 8>6>4>2 chain.

Ish |
theservantsllcleanitup wrote:
Oh. Well in that case, you can actually do it 24 times, as Superior Bond adds a second 8>6>4>2 chain.I think you can't cascade down with Superior Bond, as you can only use it once a day, and not each time you drain your bonded item as Bond conservation.
As I said, it's pretty inferior. (and that's why I think is not the way Bond Conservation was supposed to work)

![]() |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

Hey Ish,
You can, in fact, cascade down from Superior Bond. It triggers all the same things as a normal use of Bonded Item, so it simply adds an additional charge.
I'm worried you are getting a bit hung up on the "marketing" of the feat title though.
Superior Bond is indeed a superior version of arcane bond, in that it allows any and all builds/versions of the Wizard to get an additional use of the feature.
Is it superior to one particular build in all ways? No. Does it enhance and add to that build? Yes. Is it a straight upgrade for all other builds? Yep!
Seems pretty solid to me.

Ish |
Hey Ish,
You can, in fact, cascade down from Superior Bond. It triggers all the same things as a normal use of Bonded Item, so it simply adds an additional charge.
You are totally right. Superior bond doesn't cause the cascading, it's Bond conservation, taking advantage of that new drain bonded item.

Squiggit |

Re: not the way it's supposed to work, I could see them issuing errata to the effect of not being able to use the free drain from conservation on another use of conservation (though i wouldn't be a fan of that), but Universalists would still get more mileage out of the feat than specialists anyways.

mrspaghetti |
Re: not the way it's supposed to work, I could see them issuing errata to the effect of not being able to use the free drain from conservation on another use of conservation (though i wouldn't be a fan of that), but Universalists would still get more mileage out of the feat than specialists anyways.
I don't see an errata coming since the devs have specifically said cascading is how it's supposed to work.

![]() |

Squiggit wrote:Re: not the way it's supposed to work, I could see them issuing errata to the effect of not being able to use the free drain from conservation on another use of conservation (though i wouldn't be a fan of that), but Universalists would still get more mileage out of the feat than specialists anyways.I don't see an errata coming since the devs have specifically said cascading is how it's supposed to work.
Did they now? I'd love a link for that.

mrspaghetti |
mrspaghetti wrote:Did they now? I'd love a link for that.Squiggit wrote:Re: not the way it's supposed to work, I could see them issuing errata to the effect of not being able to use the free drain from conservation on another use of conservation (though i wouldn't be a fan of that), but Universalists would still get more mileage out of the feat than specialists anyways.I don't see an errata coming since the devs have specifically said cascading is how it's supposed to work.
Me too, but I can't find it now. If you know of a trick for advanced searching on the forum, let me know.