Ish's page

6 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.


RSS


Voz's cantrips include "Read magic". Probably should be read aura.


mrspaghetti wrote:
Old_Man_Robot wrote:
mrspaghetti wrote:
Squiggit wrote:

]

Did they now? I'd love a link for that.

Me too, but I can't find it now. If you know of a trick for advanced searching on the forum, let me know.

I'd love to see that. But no luck until now.


Old_Man_Robot wrote:

Hey Ish,

You can, in fact, cascade down from Superior Bond. It triggers all the same things as a normal use of Bonded Item, so it simply adds an additional charge.

You are totally right. Superior bond doesn't cause the cascading, it's Bond conservation, taking advantage of that new drain bonded item.


Aratorin wrote:
theservantsllcleanitup wrote:


Oh. Well in that case, you can actually do it 24 times, as Superior Bond adds a second 8>6>4>2 chain.

I think you can't cascade down with Superior Bond, as you can only use it once a day, and not each time you drain your bonded item as Bond conservation.

As I said, it's pretty inferior. (and that's why I think is not the way Bond Conservation was supposed to work)


Old_Man_Robot wrote:
Ish wrote:

Hi all,

Hey Ish, you can read a bit of a more in-depth break down of how it all works here.

You're player is correct in how it works, and it can be an extremely strong "on paper" build, however its unlikely to ever get up to full speed in an actual session.

As a side note, I can't it being touched by an errata for the time being. Its not precisely game-warping and isn't ambiguous in anyway, its just something a particular Wizard build can do.

First, let me tell you that your guide is great, and I'm going to send the link to my player right now.

I see is quite situational, and seeing your numbers, in any case the will not be a significant difference in spell slots vs an specialist wizard, so I'm inclined to play it by the book, but I'm still convinced that it must be a mistake, as Superior bond in quite inferior, despite of it's name.

Maybe for balance, I'd rule that the wizard won't be allowed to say a single word during the whole cascade casting, as is fully focused in the casting, or that attacks could disrupt the chain. I still have 8 levels for thinking about it.


Hi all,

Maybe I'm missing something and I'm terribly wrong, but I can't figure out how Bond Conservation (wizard 8th level feat) is not an errata. As written, it would not only allow universalist wizards to use it 8 times at level 20, but each time, chain it for a total of 20? uses.

And meanwhile you have a 14th level feat that just do the same, without the next turn limitation, but just once a day.

I'm starting my first 2e campaign this week, and one of my players is an universalist wizard, and have pointed this out for me.

By the way, I'll appreciate if someone can point me the 2e errata pdf, I've only found the first edition ones. EDIT: Nevermind, I found it