Spell storing weapon


Rules Discussion


If a Whip had a spell storing rune placed into it, if you used it to Trip instead of deal damage could you still have it trigger?


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber
Quote:


Activate
Single Action command;

Requirements
On your previous action this turn, you hit and damaged a creature with this weapon;

Effect
You unleash the stored spell, which uses the target of the triggering attack as the target of the spell. This empties the spell from the weapon and allows a spell to be cast into it again. If the spell requires a spell attack roll, the result of your attack roll with the weapon determines the degree of success of the spell, and if the spell requires a saving throw, the DC is 30.


The weapon attack roll mentioned in the effect section of the Spell Storing Rune is the previous attack or a new attack roll? If it refers to the previous attack, can the attacker use it after a critical success to double the damage of a damage spell that do not have a save?


wgfernandes_BR wrote:
The weapon attack roll mentioned in the effect section of the Spell Storing Rune is the previous attack or a new attack roll? If it refers to the previous attack, can the attacker use it after a critical success to double the damage of a damage spell that do not have a save?

Looks like it, yup.

Also, to answer OP's question, technically you could discharge a spell from your weapon after tripping, but only if you critted with your trip attempt because you would be doing damage in that case.
Then again, a trip attempt isn't an attack roll, so maybe only do it with save spells to avoid rules wonkiness.


HammerJack wrote:
Quote:


Activate
Single Action command;

Requirements
On your previous action this turn, you hit and damaged a creature with this weapon;

Effect
You unleash the stored spell, which uses the target of the triggering attack as the target of the spell. This empties the spell from the weapon and allows a spell to be cast into it again. If the spell requires a spell attack roll, the result of your attack roll with the weapon determines the degree of success of the spell, and if the spell requires a saving throw, the DC is 30.

What about a critical trip with its 1d6 damage?

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Spell storing weapon All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.