
![]() |

There's quite a few abilities and effects that trigger if you critical hit e.g. swashbuckler and panache. Now if you face a monster that's immune to critical hits can the swashbuckler (or other effect that triggers on a crit) gain the effect of their dice rolling what would be a crit e.g. regain panache even though a creature is immune to critical hits and wouldn't take more damage from the hit?

Gilfalas |

There's quite a few abilities and effects that trigger if you critical hit e.g. swashbuckler and panache. Now if you face a monster that's immune to critical hits can the swashbuckler (or other effect that triggers on a crit) gain the effect of their dice rolling what would be a crit e.g. regain panache even though a creature is immune to critical hits and wouldn't take more damage from the hit?
I think this was covered in an FAQ. Yes, effects that trigger off a critical confirmation still do, even if the target is immune to the critical itself.
So burst weapons still do more damage for example even on creatures that are immune to crits.
The creature is immune to critical hits. It did not make you incapable of threatening and confirming.

BENSLAYER |

Senko wrote:There's quite a few abilities and effects that trigger if you critical hit e.g. swashbuckler and panache. Now if you face a monster that's immune to critical hits can the swashbuckler (or other effect that triggers on a crit) gain the effect of their dice rolling what would be a crit e.g. regain panache even though a creature is immune to critical hits and wouldn't take more damage from the hit?I think this was covered in an FAQ. Yes, effects that trigger off a critical confirmation still do, even if the target is immune to the critical itself.
So burst weapons still do more damage for example even on creatures that are immune to crits.
The creature is immune to critical hits. It did not make you incapable of threatening and confirming.
I cannot find a F.A.Q. like that, do you know under which section it was posted? All that I can find is the below non-F.A.Q. reference (which states the opposite) :
A creature with immunities takes no damage from listed sources. Immunities can also apply to afflictions, conditions, spells (based on level, save type, or school), and other effects. A creature does not suffer any secondary effects that would normally be triggered by an effect it is immune to.
Format: Immune acid, fire, paralysis
Location: Defensive Abilities.