| Wasumaru |
One of my players wants to be a Savage Technologist. Savage Technologists at 2nd level gets Sword and Gun, which states:
"When a raging savage technologist wields a one-handed firearm in one hand and a light or one-handed melee weapon in the other, she can make ranged attacks with the firearm without provoking attacks of opportunity. She also gains the benefits of the Two-Weapon Fighting feat, but only if all attacks are made with those weapons."
So, his question was: does Sword and Gun count as Two-Weapon Fighting feat for the purposes of meeting feat prerequisites? In other words, could a Savage Technologist gain Improved Two-Weapon Fighting later down the line without having to actually pick up the Two-Weapon Fighting feat?
If not, is it a big deal if I overrule it? Thematic wise, it'd be kind of silly for the Savage Technologist to not get more attacks with the pistol naturally if he's able over time, IMO.
| VoodistMonk |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
Feats and abilities will specifically call out that they count as prerequisites, IF they count as prerequisites.
Like Two Weapon Grace stating that it counts as Double Slice for meeting the prerequisites of Two Weapon Rend.
Your house rule is perfectly reasonable to allow Sword and Gun to count as TWF for the sake of meeting the prerequisites of anything that includes TWF as a prerequisite.
Just know that it's a house rule, and not RAW/RAI.
| Dragonchess Player |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
Two points to keep in mind:
1) A savage technologist can only attack with a one-handed melee weapon and a one-handed firearm* when raging. If you do allow the character to use Sword and Gun to count as Two-Weapon Fighting for feat prerequisites, then they are also only in effect when raging (see rangers losing access to combat style feats, and any feats that use combat style feats as prerequisites, in heavy armor).
2) You can choose which weapon is primary and which is "off-hand" at the start of each round, so a 6th level savage technologist (BAB +6/+1) can either attack twice with their melee weapon and once with their firearm or twice with their firearm and once with their melee weapon.
* Note that because neither is a light weapon, the two-weapon attack penalty is -4 instead of -2
| Wasumaru |
Two points to keep in mind:
1) A savage technologist can only attack with a one-handed melee weapon and a one-handed firearm* when raging. If you do allow the character to use Sword and Gun to count as Two-Weapon Fighting for feat prerequisites, then they are also only in effect when raging (see rangers losing access to combat style feats, and any feats that use combat style feats as prerequisites, in heavy armor).
2) You can choose which weapon is primary and which is "off-hand" at the start of each round, so a 6th level savage technologist (BAB +6/+1) can either attack twice with their melee weapon and once with their firearm or twice with their firearm and once with their melee weapon.
* Note that because neither is a light weapon, the two-weapon attack penalty is -4 instead of -2
1) Yeah, that was going to be my intention. I'll talk with him and make that explicitly clear.
2) That part I did not know. Would that choice also affect what weapon the Savage Technologist could use on an AoO (assuming he takes Snap Shot at some point)?
Diego Rossi
|
He has the ability only when raging. He is raging when he gets a new level? No. So he misses the ability when getting a new level and can't use it as a prerequisite.
It is the opposite of the ranger example Dragonchess Player used. The ranger loses the abilities under specific circumstances but normally has them, even if he always fight in heavy armor, so he can use them as prerequisites. The Savage Technologist normally hasn't the ability and get it under specific circumstances, so he can't use it as a prerequisite.