
![]() |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

Key terms sidebar wrote:
Finisher: Finishers are spectacular finishing moves that use your panache. You can use a finisher only if you have panache, and you lose your panache immediately after performing a finisher. Once you use a finisher, you can’t use any actions that have the attack trait for the rest of your turn.
Impaling Finish wrote:
You lunge forward and stab two foes with a single thrust.
Make a melee Strike with a piercing weapon or piercing unarmed attack and compare the attack roll result against the AC of up to two foes. One foe must be adjacent to you, and the other foe must be adjacent to and directly behind the first foe, in a straight line from your space. Roll damage once and apply it to each creature you hit. An Impaling Finish counts as two attacks when calculating your multiple attack penalty
Are there things that don't have the attack trait but use the multiple attack penalty, or is this just some leftover artifact from a time when finisher didn't have to finish your attacks?

Tribon |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |
someweirdguy wrote:
If you had something like Cleave (which doesn't have the attack trait) and took out one of your opponents, wouldn't you need to care about your MAP?
Cleave has you make a Strike, which does have the Attack trait, so that wouldn't work. It seems like the clause about your MAP is unnecessary.

someweirdguy |
Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber
Tribon wrote:
someweirdguy wrote:If you had something like Cleave (which doesn't have the attack trait) and took out one of your opponents, wouldn't you need to care about your MAP?Cleave has you make a Strike, which does have the Attack trait, so that wouldn't work. It seems like the clause about your MAP is unnecessary.
You're right. I'd forgotten that Subordinate Actions still have their usual traits.