Impaling Finisher and MAP


Swashbuckler Playtest

Dark Archive

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Pawns, Rulebook Subscriber
Key terms sidebar wrote:
Finisher: Finishers are spectacular finishing moves that use your panache. You can use a finisher only if you have panache, and you lose your panache immediately after performing a finisher. Once you use a finisher, you can’t use any actions that have the attack trait for the rest of your turn.
Impaling Finish wrote:

You lunge forward and stab two foes with a single thrust.

Make a melee Strike with a piercing weapon or piercing unarmed attack and compare the attack roll result against the AC of up to two foes. One foe must be adjacent to you, and the other foe must be adjacent to and directly behind the first foe, in a straight line from your space. Roll damage once and apply it to each creature you hit. An Impaling Finish counts as two attacks when calculating your multiple attack penalty

Are there things that don't have the attack trait but use the multiple attack penalty, or is this just some leftover artifact from a time when finisher didn't have to finish your attacks?


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber

If you had something like Cleave (which doesn't have the attack trait) and took out one of your opponents, wouldn't you need to care about your MAP?


1 person marked this as a favorite.
someweirdguy wrote:
If you had something like Cleave (which doesn't have the attack trait) and took out one of your opponents, wouldn't you need to care about your MAP?

Cleave has you make a Strike, which does have the Attack trait, so that wouldn't work. It seems like the clause about your MAP is unnecessary.

Silver Crusade

Pathfinder Companion, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

Or futureproofing.


3 people marked this as a favorite.

Actually, now that I think about it, your MAP would apply if you readied an attack action after using your finisher.


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber
Tribon wrote:
someweirdguy wrote:
If you had something like Cleave (which doesn't have the attack trait) and took out one of your opponents, wouldn't you need to care about your MAP?
Cleave has you make a Strike, which does have the Attack trait, so that wouldn't work. It seems like the clause about your MAP is unnecessary.

You're right. I'd forgotten that Subordinate Actions still have their usual traits.

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Companion, Pathfinder Accessories, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

This issue also applies to Twin Finisher.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Advanced Player’s Guide Playtest / Swashbuckler Playtest / Impaling Finisher and MAP All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.