How does Guidance affect True Strike?


Rules Discussion


Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

Here are the relevant bits of the spell descriptions from the CRB:
Guidance:
"[...], granting the target a +1 status bonus to one attack roll, Perception check, saving throw, or skill check the target attempts before the duration ends. The target chooses which roll to use the bonus on before rolling."

True strike:
"The next time you make an attack roll before the end of your turn, roll the attack twice and use the better result."

Now, how do these two interact?
Do I roll twice, adding a +1 to one of the rolls, and then use the better result as my attack roll?
OR
Do I roll twice, using the better result as my attack roll and then add +1?

The way the rules are written, a case could be made for either, it seems.


2 people marked this as a favorite.

I think it applies. It's still just one attack roll, you just get two chances at it.


2 people marked this as a favorite.

I think rolling the attack twice then adding the bonus makes the most sense. In an order of operations kind of sense.

Guidance is a status bonus to the result of the d20. True strike gives you two results of the d20 and you pick one, then you add all the bonuses like guidance.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

I agree with Garretmander. Another way of looking at it is that even with true strike you're only making one "attack roll," it's just that it consists of two d20 rolls.


Thus may sound facetious but I'm actually curious if I've missed some rule or interaction where this matters? Both come out with the same result.


roll twice take best, then add +1 to it - but you have to decide that you will be using the guidance bonus before you roll.

The effects of these spells don't interfere or even really interact with each other, so I think the confusion is resulting from over-thinking.


Pretty sure you roll twice and take the better before you add anything to it. The rules list the order of operations, and rolling comes before adding anything else. So if you roll twice you'd do that before the rest.
So I'm pretty sure it applies just fine.


Malk_Content wrote:
Thus may sound facetious but I'm actually curious if I've missed some rule or interaction where this matters? Both come out with the same result.

I think the original question was:

A) Roll the first dice and add one to it, and only it, (might be a 2+1=3) then roll the second dice (might be a 15 which is greater than 3)

Which I believe is entirely wrong.

You would roll both (2,15) then drop the two and add guidance and other modifiers to the 15.


Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

The bit that had me confused is the "roll the attack twice" in combination with "choose which roll to apply the bonus to before rolling".

If they changed the wording to "make the attack roll with two d20 and pick the better result" or something like that, calling for one roll with two dice simultaneously instead of rolling two times it might be clearer.

I'll rule it to be intended like that in the future. Thanks all

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / How does Guidance affect True Strike? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.