Spell turning vs SR=no effects


Rules Questions


I'm looking at a published adventure and want to be sure I am running a monster correctly. A glass golem has a spell reflection ability described as working like spell turning. Does this ability work against spells which bypass SR? (pellet blast, stone discuss, glitterdust, grease, etc)


Spells and spell-like effects targeted on you are turned back upon the original caster. The abjuration turns only spells that have you as a target. Effect and area spells are not affected. Spell turning also fails to stop touch range spells. From seven to ten (1d4+6) spell levels are affected by the turning. The exact number is rolled secretly.

If it falls under those conditions, it's reflected.


In particular all those spells named are effect or area spells, which are not reflected. I expect that's true of a lot of SR: no spells & maybe all of them - they tend to create something physical. Affecting a target directly is the province of SR: yes spells.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Spell turning vs SR=no effects All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.