| Dairfaron |
If I select Mind Thrust 1 with the Gifted Adept trait, does the trait also increase my CL on Mind Thrust 2 and higher?
Likewise, when I select Mind Thrust 3 with Spell Specialization, do I also get the +2 on CL when I undercast it as Mind Thrust 1 or 2?
I couldn't find an official ruling on that so far. What do you think?
Belafon
|
I would say “no” and “no.”
If you have gifted adept for mind thrust 1, then gifted adept wouldn’t do anything for mind thrust 2. Just like having gifted adept for magic fang wouldn’t have any effect on greater magic fang.
For your second question the rules on undercasting state to treat it exactly as if you cast the lower-level spell.
When a spellcaster undercasts a spell, it is treated exactly like the lower-level version, including when determining its effect, saving throw, and other variables.
Syries
|
I’m not so sure in that second one.
If you’re 20th level and have spell specialization for the Wish spell, and cast fireball with it, your fireball should have a CL of 22 because you’re using the caster level of Wish to determine the effect of the fireball.
I’d argue the same goes for undercasting spells like mind thrust.
Captain Zoom
|
I’m not so sure in that second one.
If you’re 20th level and have spell specialization for the Wish spell, and cast fireball with it, your fireball should have a CL of 22 because you’re using the caster level of Wish to determine the effect of the fireball.
I’d argue the same goes for undercasting spells like mind thrust.
I disagree with you. Your example is not appropriate. Your example is NOT undercasting. It's using a wish to cast a different spell.
Undercasting is a specific rule for certain spells (and Wish is not one of those spells). Belafon quoted the rule word for word. If you have Mindthrust III, you can undercast it as Mind Thrust I, and it is in EVERY WAY treated as Mindthrust I.
That said, I also agree with Belafon that Gifted Adept with Mindthrust I does not confer it's benefits on Mindthrust II or III or IV, but if you undercast as Mindthrust I, then it does apply to that casting. Nor would Gifted Adept with Mindthrust IV give any benefit when you undercast as Mindthrust I, II or III.