Fey Magic and spell completion items


Rules Questions


So I saw fey magic and I wanted obscuring mist for reasons. Not important, the thing is I want to be able to cast with, say, scrolls whenever. If I'm not in my favored terrain with fey magic can I still use spell completion or spell trigger items as normal, or would I need to UMD?

Thanks in advance


Pathfinder Starfinder Society Subscriber

I don't think Fey Magic adds any spells to your spell list (as non-spellcasters can select and use that option), so you would need to resort to Use Magic Device in any case, even if you are in your selected favored terrain.


You're stuck with UMD.


David knott 242 wrote:

I don't think Fey Magic adds any spells to your spell list (as non-spellcasters can select and use that option), so you would need to resort to Use Magic Device in any case, even if you are in your selected favored terrain.

Really? Even though I can cast the spell I can't use magic items with that spell, it is 100% dependent on class? I didn't realise that. Do you have a source other than what is said in the magic item section of the core rule book? If so then say, a devil cannot use a wand even if he could cast that spell as a sla?


a spell like ability isn't the same as casting the spell. Usually this makes them better.

Spell-Like Abilities (Sp) wrote:
Spell-like abilities are magical and work just like spells (though they are not spells and so have no verbal, somatic, focus, or material components).

also

Spell-Like Abilities (Sp) wrote:
Using spell-like abilities is a standard action unless noted otherwise, and doing so provokes attacks of opportunity. It is possible to make a concentration check to use a spell-like ability defensively and avoid provoking an attack of opportunity, just as when casting a spell. A spell-like ability can be disrupted just as a spell can be. Spell-like abilities cannot be used to counterspell, nor can they be counterspelled.


Even then, being able to cast a spell "for reals" isn't enough to activate spell completion items of that spell, at least for scrolls and other items stated to function like scrolls:

Scrolls wrote:

To have any chance of activating a scroll spell, the scroll user must meet the following requirements.

• the spell must be of the correct type (arcane or divine). Arcane spellcasters (wizards, sorcerers, and bards) can only use scrolls containing arcane spells, and divine spellcasters (clerics, druids, paladins, and rangers) can only use scrolls containing divine spells. (The type of scroll a character creates is also determined by his class.)
The user must have the spell on her class list.
• The user must have the requisite ability score.

Clerics, for example, can cast domain spells that aren't on their spell list, but barring a house rule they cannot use scrolls (even divine ones) of such spells without UMD or some other means.


Pathfinder Starfinder Society Subscriber

Wands are definitely easier to use than scrolls if you have to resort to Use Magic Device.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Fey Magic and spell completion items All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions